Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-03-2008, 03:13 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 40
Share |
Default

routing of wire in garage


I believe the correct way to route the wire would be labeled as "A" in the diagram. However, once I am through the top do I drill through the roof truces as noted in "C"? Or do I attach to the underside of the truces? I don't believe that routing as denoted by label "B" is allowed, correct? Also, for routing the lights, may I route trough/above/below the beams that cross the length of the garage as labeled in "D", or is conduit required and what type? I do not plan to finish overhead in the garage. I will be wiring with nm.

joey b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 06:31 AM   #2
electrical contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Georgia USA
Posts: 181
Default

routing of wire in garage


I would wire the entire garage with EMT conduit and THHN wire. You may not be planning to finish overhead now, but time changes everything. It sure would be rough to have to move wiring so the interior could be finished. Wiring in conduit can be run concealed and exposed so you are OK weather or not you finish the interior.

__________________
Jimmy

Life is tough, Life is tougher when you are stupid.
wire_twister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 06:48 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

routing of wire in garage


Why are you bringing the wire up? Why not just run it along the wall?
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 07:31 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 187
Default

routing of wire in garage


My inspector would not let me run perpindicular to my studs on a unfinished wall.

Gary
Gary_602z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 09:00 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Default

routing of wire in garage


You can't have unsupported exposed wiring - so no stringing across joists or studs.

You can run along the plates as in B, but in case someone would ever want to finish the walls or ceiling that creates rework. Suggest to run a 1x4 across the top of the joists creating a raceway and staple the wiring to the top of it, and then run along the side of the rafters to the side walls as needed.

For down the walls, you can do A or B, but suggested would be A to again avoid possible rework later.

Vince

Last edited by vsheetz; 12-03-2008 at 09:03 AM.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Want to wire extra lights to garage door opener SuperAkuma Electrical 14 08-02-2008 07:48 AM
Dryer Grounding??? Traci_howdyadothat Electrical 7 05-27-2008 01:14 PM
Installing Fluorescents in Garage rzrbkpk Electrical 26 04-08-2008 09:00 PM
running wire to detached garage amakarevic Electrical 2 02-28-2008 02:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.