Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-23-2012, 12:23 PM   #1
EIT/DIY'er
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Western NY
Posts: 51
Share |
Default

Rough in for under cabinet lighting


I plan to talk to my inspector about this, but they can be difficult to track down and I want to make sure I'm going down the right path prior to getting in touch with him.

I'm wrapping up with the electrical rough ins for a new kitchen addition (stick framed on a concrete slab).

My cabinet layout is L-shaped, with a break in the cabinets at a window, and another break in the cabinets where the range and range hood are. I have let in some 1x6 stock into the studs to give a nice fastening surface for the upper cabinets.

I will be using hardwired xenon line voltage under cabinet lights. How can I run the wiring for this? I plan to run 14-2 romex through a precisely located hole in the 1x6. Once the drywall and cabinets are up, the wire would come through a hole drilled in the back "lip" of the cabinet and into the light. I'd cover this portion of it in wiremold.

Is this the right way to do this?

Lattimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 01:08 PM   #2
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Default

Rough in for under cabinet lighting


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lattimer
I plan to talk to my inspector about this, but they can be difficult to track down and I want to make sure I'm going down the right path prior to getting in touch with him.

I'm wrapping up with the electrical rough ins for a new kitchen addition (stick framed on a concrete slab).

My cabinet layout is L-shaped, with a break in the cabinets at a window, and another break in the cabinets where the range and range hood are. I have let in some 1x6 stock into the studs to give a nice fastening surface for the upper cabinets.

I will be using hardwired xenon line voltage under cabinet lights. How can I run the wiring for this? I plan to run 14-2 romex through a precisely located hole in the 1x6. Once the drywall and cabinets are up, the wire would come through a hole drilled in the back "lip" of the cabinet and into the light. I'd cover this portion of it in wiremold.

Is this the right way to do this?
I don't know if I understand you but here's what I would do leave the wire hanging out right below where the cabinet will end.

__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 01:49 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,410
Default

Rough in for under cabinet lighting


Sounds good, just be sure to get the hole height correct. Did you allow for the finished floor thickness?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
Lattimer (01-23-2012)
Old 01-23-2012, 01:51 PM   #4
EIT/DIY'er
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Western NY
Posts: 51
Default

Rough in for under cabinet lighting


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Sounds good, just be sure to get the hole height correct. Did you allow for the finished floor thickness?
Haven't done the work yet (its the final thing on my to-do list before calling for the inspection), but I will be taking finished floor elevation into account.

I just wanted to be sure I was doing it properly by bringing the romex through a hole in the framing, drywall, and cabinet.
Lattimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 02:11 PM   #5
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,889
Default

Rough in for under cabinet lighting


plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 04:32 PM   #6
Member
 
firehawkmph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Near Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,573
Default

Rough in for under cabinet lighting


Lattimer,
When we are doing a kitchen remodel with undercabinet lighting, after the old cabinets are out, I usually do some layout marking on the wall. After marking out the cabinets, I usually use a laser and find the high and low spots in the floor and ceiling to determine where the bottom of the wall cabinets will hit, and also the top of the bases. The bottom lip on most cabinets is around an inch. Check your cabinets to verify that, you should have them on site at this point. I'll have the electrician set them about a 1/2" above where the bottom of the cabinet is going to land. If something happens where your cabinet height changes slightly, you can easily slot the hole to make the adjustment. If the fixture isn't able to be wired directly over the whole, the electrician uses 3/8" bx cable between the fixture and the exit hole in the lip of the cabinet, so there is no exposed romex or wiring.
Mike Hawkins

firehawkmph is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing under cabinet lighting trim? kcrossley2 Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 5 11-13-2012 08:38 PM
under and in cabinet lighting fabian General DIY Discussions 2 10-10-2011 10:04 PM
Under cabinet lighting (Valence lighting) FredS Electrical 4 05-15-2010 10:18 PM
Rough in Cabinet Lighting cibula11 Electrical 1 04-27-2008 09:08 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.