Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-14-2010, 09:30 PM   #1
A Dangerous Tinkerer
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Delaware
Posts: 29
Share |
Default

Rough-in Question


I'm getting ready to call my local inspectors to have them come out to do a rough-in. I've also done some pre-searching on the forums for my answers, but would like to confirm instead of assume.

Quick note before the questions -- I do plan to call tomorrow and ask what they might look for when coming out to do the inspection. I just figure the more people I ask, the most advice/options I'll get. Just another CYA step for me.

1. I'm adding a sub-panel for the basement. 100A sub from the main to the basement, using 2/2/2/4 alum wire. Does this need to be installed and connected for rough-in? The searching I've done typically resulted in the inspector(s) checking for box installs and wire selection, and also stapling.

2. There will be two main areas inspected. I have a theater room that I've build and framed, and also a new downstairs office. Ideally, I just want to finish the office first until I can complete the theater side. I am wondering if I can add the sub and get the rough-in just for the office room itself, or if they would want to see the theater side done as well because its already framed?

3. Should I have all the breakers installed, or just the wires running back into the boxes and the grounds/neutrals hooked up for the rough-in? I saw the grounds were of primary concern, but figured I'd ask just to be safe.

Thanks in advance guys... appreciate your help.

mindle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 10:01 PM   #2
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,889
Default

Rough-in Question


Have your joints all made up in plug/switch boxes and make sure everything looks nice and neat.dont make up the service panel till all the work in field is ready to be fired up.

plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 10:01 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,361
Default

Rough-in Question


You can feed a 100 Amp sub-panel with that #2, but be sure to use a 90 Amp breaker in the main panel on that circuit.

You won't have to actually hot-up that panel for a R/W inspection, but having all the wires stripped out and made up is good practice.

I hope you got your permit from the electrical board in Dover for this project?
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 10:04 PM   #4
A Dangerous Tinkerer
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Delaware
Posts: 29
Default

Rough-in Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
You can feed a 100 Amp sub-panel with that #2, but be sure to use a 90 Amp breaker in the main panel on that circuit.

You won't have to actually hot-up that panel for a R/W inspection, but having all the wires stripped out and made up is good practice.

I hope you got your permit from the electrical board in Dover for this project?
Yessir.. permit was issued either late last month or early this month. Shows up on the DPR site and I got my paper permit in the mail either last or this past week.

This is likely a dumb question - but do these inspections cost money, and if so any idea of the cost?
mindle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 10:12 PM   #5
A Dangerous Tinkerer
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Delaware
Posts: 29
Default

Rough-in Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
Have your joints all made up in plug/switch boxes and make sure everything looks nice and neat.dont make up the service panel till all the work in field is ready to be fired up.
Thanks plummen.
mindle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 10:14 PM   #6
A Dangerous Tinkerer
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Delaware
Posts: 29
Default

Rough-in Question


BTW - kb I was wondering if you have recommendations for people to use for inspections. You've replied to a couple of my threads (to which I am grateful) that lead me to believe you are either in DE or around here. DPR sent me a list of inspection places to call, do you have any recommendations? I'm not interested in someone who will just pass me as I'm more interested in someone who will be honest with me and tell me if/where I screwed up so I can fix it.
mindle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 10:18 PM   #7
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,889
Default

Rough-in Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by mindle View Post
Yessir.. permit was issued either late last month or early this month. Shows up on the DPR site and I got my paper permit in the mail either last or this past week.

This is likely a dumb question - but do these inspections cost money, and if so any idea of the cost?
thats covered in your permit cost normally,unless you need repeat inspections for problems with the work performed inspectors are generally easy to work with.The guy who used to be chief electrical inspector for bellevue ne for many years works for me now,he tells me im pickier than he ever was!
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 10:39 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,361
Default

Rough-in Question


Inspection fees are NOT part of the permit costs. Yes, you will have to pay additional for the inspection.

I use both Middle Dept, and American Inspection Agency in Delaware. You can download an application from AIA by clicking here.

What county are you in?
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 10:41 PM   #9
A Dangerous Tinkerer
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Delaware
Posts: 29
Default

Rough-in Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Inspection fees are NOT part of the permit costs. Yes, you will have to pay additional for the inspection.

I use both Middle Dept, and American Inspection Agency in Delaware. You can download an application from AIA by clicking here.

What county are you in?
New Castle County... in Newark -- Thanks for the link, I'll check it out. What do their fees run? (if you happen to know off hand)
mindle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 10:46 PM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,361
Default

Rough-in Question


I'd budget anywhere from $75-100 for your project. Middle Dept. accepts credit cards, BTW.

Phone numbers for AIA: (302)292-2000
Middle Dept: (302)999-0243

I'd bet $$$ that they are closed tomorrow, due to it being a Federal Holiday.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 10:50 PM   #11
A Dangerous Tinkerer
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Delaware
Posts: 29
Default

Rough-in Question


ahh, forgot all about the holiday. <shakes fist>
mindle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 10:54 PM   #12
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,361
Default

Rough-in Question


Hey, you can try to call `em! I know that Middle Dept is usually closed on federal holidays. Not sure about AIA, however
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 10:54 PM   #13
A Dangerous Tinkerer
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Delaware
Posts: 29
Default

Rough-in Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
You can feed a 100 Amp sub-panel with that #2, but be sure to use a 90 Amp breaker in the main panel on that circuit.
What size should I be using in the sub-panel then? I (mistakenly) purchased the 100A panel and it came with the 100A main circuit already with it... should I replace that as well?
mindle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 11:02 PM   #14
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,889
Default

Rough-in Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Inspection fees are NOT part of the permit costs. Yes, you will have to pay additional for the inspection.

I use both Middle Dept, and American Inspection Agency in Delaware. You can download an application from AIA by clicking here.

What county are you in?
that sucks,around here its paid for in the permit.
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 11:07 PM   #15
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,406
Default

Rough-in Question


You can use a two pole 90 in the main panel to feed the subpanel.

Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what to do for plumbing rough inspection? red86yota Plumbing 5 09-12-2010 04:39 PM
A question about water preassure. reasonforseason Plumbing 5 04-14-2009 04:36 PM
Rough Opening issues for interior Pre-hung door get2bill Carpentry 3 04-04-2009 07:27 AM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM
hrv question indep HVAC 3 07-17-2008 10:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.