DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum (http://www.diychatroom.com/)
-   Electrical (http://www.diychatroom.com/f18/)
-   -   Rough in electrical inspection for kitchen remodel (http://www.diychatroom.com/f18/rough-electrical-inspection-kitchen-remodel-180822/)

cinderellaii 05-29-2013 06:00 PM

Rough in electrical inspection for kitchen remodel
 
4 Attachment(s)
We pulled home owner's permit for our kitchen remodel, and I started to get very worried about the upcoming electrical inspection. I took some pictures of the outlets and hopefully someone can let me know whether they'll pass the inspection.

This is the wire for the DW

Attachment 71775

outlet for fridge . We'll just keep it as is.



Attachment 71776

This is one countertop outlet, GFCI



Attachment 71777

This is the only dedicated line in the kitchen, also a countertop outlet



Attachment 71778

I hope the pictures loaded ok. Thanks!

joecaption 05-29-2013 06:03 PM

Got me scared with that first picture.
Where's the outlet?
All outlets over the countertop need to be GFI and no more then 4' apart.
Is this all 12-2 wiring?
Do you have two circuts for the kitchen?

cinderellaii 05-29-2013 06:04 PM

By the way, I am in East Brunswick, NJ.

cinderellaii 05-29-2013 06:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by joecaption
Got me scared with that first picture.

Should I use a grounding type attachment plug for it?

cinderellaii 05-29-2013 06:20 PM

2 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by joecaption
Got me scared with that first picture.
Where's the outlet?
All outlets over the countertop need to be GFI and no more then 4' apart.
Is this all 12-2 wiring?
Do you have two circuts for the kitchen?

I have three circuits coming into the kitchen, but two of them are more or less shared. Yes the outlets over the countertop are GFI and no more than 4' apart. The new wires are 12-2. I am not sure about the old wires.

These are my outlets over the countertop.

Attachment 71779



Attachment 71780

deverson 05-29-2013 06:56 PM

Not sure why you used 20 amp GFCI's as you could have used 15's. the BX laying on the window sill probably won't pass inspection. Just my opinion though!

deverson 05-29-2013 06:57 PM

My bad!!! Old romex not BX. Still won't pass inspection.

cinderellaii 05-29-2013 08:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by deverson
My bad!!! Old romex not BX. Still won't pass inspection.

Ok. We'll put in an outlet for the dishwasher tomorrow.

cinderellaii 05-29-2013 08:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by deverson
Not sure why you used 20 amp GFCI's as you could have used 15's. the BX laying on the window sill probably won't pass inspection. Just my opinion though!

Since the price is pretty much the same, I just took the 20 amp ones. I didn't think it would make any difference.

Philly Master 05-29-2013 08:43 PM

you do not have to have the outlets or switches in for the ROUGH inspection .... they are or want to look at the wires/grounds ..

cinderellaii 05-29-2013 08:50 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Philly Master
you do not have to have the outlets or switches in for the ROUGH inspection .... they are or want to look at the wires/grounds ..

I know the ROMEX is grounded, so can I just leave it like this? Here is another picture I took:

Attachment 71794

clydesdale 05-29-2013 09:26 PM

One of the best things you can do to prepare is call your electrical subcode official in advance of the inspection and discuss their expectations and how they would like to see things during the inspection. For example they may not want the receptacles installed so they can see the individual conductors and the ground wire. Keep asking questions on the forum as well you will get some excellent advice.

Philly Master 05-30-2013 05:15 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cinderellaii (Post 1190752)
I know the ROMEX is grounded, so can I just leave it like this? Here is another picture I took:

Attachment 71794


for the mot part they want to see the wires were they belong...

dishwashers and disopals are cord and plug now.. so you need a box mounted to land that wire in....

mm11 05-30-2013 07:58 AM

Inspectors I've dealt with want to see the ground wires spliced together, with no devices in boxes, for a rough-in inspection.

sirsparksalot 05-30-2013 09:15 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cinderellaii (Post 1190752)
I know the ROMEX is grounded, so can I just leave it like this? Here is another picture I took:

Attachment 71794

I would say that you should lengthen the conductors beyond the connectors. You want at least 6" of wire to work with. Just move the connector back about 1/4" so that there's a bit of cloth showing beyond the connector.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 PM.


Copyright 2003-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved