Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-22-2007, 09:13 PM   #1

Share |

Rough-in Do's & Don'ts???

I'm rewiring my old house with all the plaster walls removed. I called our local permit office to ask about the rough-in inspection. As usual, I didn't get much of an answer. So, what needs to be in place or not for a rough-in inspection? Here is what I know so far.
  • Pull all wires to rec and light boxes
  • Staple all wires according to NEC
  • Pull all home runs back to panel
  • Wire panel with ground and neutral only
  • Wire up ground in rec and light boxes
Am I missing anything?

Thanks in advance,
Dave

diverdaveman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2007, 07:20 AM   #2

I'm not an electrician, and this is worth about what you're paying for it...so beware. FWIW, I did the wiring on my new house 2600 sqft, and it passed code first time through, and the ALL the circuits worked as intended when the house was powered up. That said...here it goes....
  • Make sure that if your switching a white wire used as a traveler, that its wrapped with black tape at the end.
  • Label your circuit box circuits.
  • Make a paper map of the circuits, laminate it an put it near the circuit box.
  • In any trouble spot that you have access to, take digital pictures if possible.
  • During the install keep a small pocket notebook handy and write down those things you need to come back to...don't try to remember them.
  • When making corners with your wire, don't make any sharp 90* bends. Our inspector really frowns on sharp bends and will make you bring slack to the area.
  • Watch your wire count in the box, if possible use the large wall boxes...it's a whole lot less frustrating to have extra space than trying to cram the wires in a small box.
  • In the kitchen, put the adjustable depth wall boxes so the face can be set flush with what ever back splash material you choose.