Rough In Cabinet Lighting - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-26-2008, 11:15 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,148
Rewards Points: 592
Default

Rough in Cabinet Lighting


I found a power source at the bottom of the base cabinets. I will be running 14-2 up to the counter top level and installing a switch. My question is:
1. Should I run the wiring from the switch to a junction box where all the wires from my cabinet lights will go? Or should I just run all the 14-2 into the switch?
2. I'm considering xenon and do I need to run 2 wires (one entering and one exiting) under each cabinet where I want light?

Advertisement

cibula11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2008, 10:08 AM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,389
Rewards Points: 3,572
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Rough in Cabinet Lighting


Your choice. Which ever version uses the least wire and doesn't create a box over fill situtation.

Advertisement

joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Low Voltage Cabinet Lighting Recommendations BigJimmy Electrical 2 01-20-2008 02:01 PM
Under cabinet lighting TonyD Electrical 20 11-08-2007 07:00 AM
Under cabinet linear lighting? kcrossley2 Electrical 1 07-08-2007 08:26 AM
under cabinet lighting handifoot Electrical 1 05-26-2006 12:48 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts