Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-08-2008, 05:40 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rope Lights/Telephone Wire Splicing


Two questions.....

I have built a riser for a home theater room where I wasnt to rope light around the bottom. I would like to just wire an outlet to a switch which I know is possible but I would like to run it to a dimmer switch. Is this possible?


Secondly, I need a phone line for this same room. The builder ran all phone lines to the box above garage which has a small entrance through the ceiling. I am 6'8" and 325 and will never fit in there. I have a number of outlets above this room which I will never use. I would love to either splice from the existing line upstairs and run it to the theater room. Is this possible?

Thanks in advance for your help!

will_53115 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2008, 05:55 PM   #2
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Rope Lights/Telephone Wire Splicing


[quote=will_53115;169789]Two questions.....

I have built a riser for a home theater room where I wasnt to rope light around the bottom. I would like to just wire an outlet to a switch which I know is possible but I would like to run it to a dimmer switch. Is this possible?


Secondly, I need a phone line for this same room. The builder ran all phone lines to the box above garage which has a small entrance through the ceiling. I am 6'8" and 325 and will never fit in there. I have a number of outlets above this room which I will never use. I would love to either splice from the existing line upstairs and run it to the theater room. Is this possible?



Question one - Is it possible yes, is it legal no haha

Question Two - Yes you can tap into an existing phone line

dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2008, 09:46 PM   #3
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Rope Lights/Telephone Wire Splicing


Will, you can splice those phone wires til the roosters come home to milk. The dimmer is another matter because the code specifies that a dimmer cannot control anything but permanently installed lighting. This is meant to mean you can't control a receptacle with a dimmer. Is it dangerous? Not very. The problem is, you could severely damage some equipment by under volting it if you plug up to a dimmed outlet.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
old wire, backfed switch question Jack A. Trades Electrical 6 07-03-2008 12:05 PM
Dryer Grounding??? Traci_howdyadothat Electrical 7 05-27-2008 02:14 PM
Installing Fluorescents in Garage rzrbkpk Electrical 26 04-08-2008 10:00 PM
Stranded wire on screw connections BigJimmy Electrical 7 01-19-2008 03:42 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 09:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.