Room For Expansion In Main Panel??? - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2011, 11:38 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 49
Rewards Points: 25
Default

room for expansion in main panel???


What kind of panel do you have?

Advertisement

jerseystyle26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 12:16 AM   #17
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,007
Rewards Points: 2,080
Default

room for expansion in main panel???


Welcome to the forum!

Electrical work can be a life-taking work. If one has found they need a permit to continue, I suggest you follow through and get a permit. We can help you be safe, to a certain measure. You have to accept or reject some of the information you receive from here. I would hate to learn someone was hurt or killed from following the one advice that was solitary rather than the advice from the group. There are DIY'ers and professionals answering here, choose your actions wisely and safely. The Codes are the minimum safety standard, like getting a "D" on the test in school......

Gary
__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Gary in WA For This Useful Post:
RST (03-28-2011)
Old 03-27-2011, 10:09 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 161
Rewards Points: 159
Default

room for expansion in main panel???


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerseystyle26 View Post
What kind of panel do you have?
look at the very first thread, i have details there. are you after more information than that?
crankbait09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 10:52 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 49
Rewards Points: 25
Default

room for expansion in main panel???


Sorry I relized you did put dowb the info., the type of panel you have does support tandem(twin) breakers. According to you you have free space so you should be good to go.
jerseystyle26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 11:24 AM   #20
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,053
Rewards Points: 2,904
Default

room for expansion in main panel???


The part number posted is for the cover.

You are looking for a number formatted like this, QO12030M150.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 01:39 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 161
Rewards Points: 159
Default

room for expansion in main panel???


but the permit and inspection is standing in my way.......i realize everything else may be easy enough to do but i generally dont like to go against the rules........if i need a permit and inspection, then id feel better doing so.....

are these types of things expensive? (inspection/permit)
crankbait09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 02:24 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 49
Rewards Points: 25
Default

room for expansion in main panel???


All places are different. If your totally against not gettin a permit than get one. All I was pointing out in my experience when I do simple sidejobs as yours would be ive never pulled a permit. As long as the company/eletrician is fully insured/bonded any problems that would arise youll be safe. Only time we deal with permits is doing new construction and the homebuilder deals with the townships. Or if we work for a homeowner and do a rehab,service,addition.
jerseystyle26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 03:24 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 139
Rewards Points: 75
Default

room for expansion in main panel???


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerseystyle26
All places are different. If your totally against not gettin a permit than get one. All I was pointing out in my experience when I do simple sidejobs as yours would be ive never pulled a permit. As long as the company/eletrician is fully insured/bonded any problems that would arise youll be safe. Only time we deal with permits is doing new construction and the homebuilder deals with the townships. Or if we work for a homeowner and do a rehab,service,addition.
The OP is getting the permit like the OP should based upon the fact that he called the AHJ and they said one was required. End of story.
clydesdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 03:32 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 161
Rewards Points: 159
Default

room for expansion in main panel???


so are permits/inspections pretty expensive for something like this?
crankbait09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 03:40 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 139
Rewards Points: 75
Default

room for expansion in main panel???


Quote:
Originally Posted by crankbait09
so are permits/inspections pretty expensive for something like this?
In my town the fee would be $50. That would cover the addition of up to 25 outlets/fixtures. Service panels/entrances, sub-panels, motors, pools, would be more. Now if this was part of a renovation of a room that fee would probably be somewhere around $200-400 depending on the cost of the renovation as you would need to pull building and plumbing permits as well.
clydesdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 07:02 PM   #26
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

room for expansion in main panel???


Quote:
Originally Posted by clydesdale View Post
In my town the fee would be $50. That would cover the addition of up to 25 outlets/fixtures. Service panels/entrances, sub-panels, motors, pools, would be more. Now if this was part of a renovation of a room that fee would probably be somewhere around $200-400 depending on the cost of the renovation as you would need to pull building and plumbing permits as well.
This will vary by location and the process put in place by the governing body. When I started my new house I got the building permit from the county and paid the county for it but I had to contact the state electrical inspector directly for the all required electrical inspections. I paid him a flat fee (to MN) that covered three trips - temp power, RI, and final.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 09:48 PM   #27
Power Gen/RS Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oak Park, Illinois
Posts: 751
Rewards Points: 500
Default

room for expansion in main panel???


The cost in my jurisdiction is similar to Clydes: $50 for up to 25 outlets which includes RI, final and one re-inspection (if required) at no add'l cost. My local allows the HO to perform his/her own electrical work. I know that some do not allow this. Again, just check with your AHJ and post any follow ups for advice as needed.

Good luck and be safe,
J
__________________
Well, now, there's what's right and what's right and never the twain shall meet.
BigJimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 09:55 PM   #28
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,007
Rewards Points: 2,080
Default

room for expansion in main panel???


If a permit is required and the work was done by a licensed electrician without a permit, and something happens in the future to the house because of his visit, your Homeowners Insurance doesn't have to honor a claim. That would be an expensive lesson for someone......... just something to keep in mind.

Gary
__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 10:55 AM   #29
RST
DIY Homeowner
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 169
Rewards Points: 150
Default

room for expansion in main panel???


Get a permit, do it right!

Cost shouldn't be that much. It sounds like you don't have a lot of experience, and the process will insure that things are done correctly. Buy some books, read up, and come back here and ask more questions.

The danger with electricity is that you can completely screw it up but it will appear to work fine... until a fire or some other catastrophe occurs years later.

RST
RST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 12:02 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 60
Rewards Points: 75
Default

room for expansion in main panel???


After reading this topic with interest, I think you should consider getting an electrician to do this for you. This is a relatively simple job and if you are having an issue understanding what is required to complete this task you should err on the side of caution and have a more knowledgeable person do the job.

If you decide to do it ask alot of questions and be safe, please.

A permit doesn't make you safe, it only makes sure the job is EVENTUALLY done correct.

Advertisement

screwy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sub panel or main panel grounding dghowery Electrical 1 10-13-2010 10:18 AM
Main Panel / Service Upgrades gbe Electrical 12 11-07-2009 12:20 AM
grounding of main panel and sub panel in older house linkysys Electrical 2 10-01-2009 05:34 PM
Passing wire to another panel theatretch85 Electrical 5 09-21-2009 12:09 AM
Extending Old Main Circuit Panel lkpowell Electrical 4 10-23-2008 03:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts