Rookie Electrician Needing Help! - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-18-2012, 08:03 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rookie electrician needing help!


Hi all!

I'm trying to install an outdoor box for my low voltage lighting controller unit. I have an electrical junction box that's split from indoors and leads to a post lamp. I'm wondering how I split this junction box off to a simple 110 receptical for my outdoor lighting controller. I've attached a picture just in case I didn't explain well. Thank everyone for the help!!!


Advertisement

TR054935 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 09:38 PM   #2
Member
 
kevinp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 323
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Rookie electrician needing help!


try again with the picture - the first one did not work - the dreaded red x

Advertisement

kevinp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 09:42 PM   #3
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,110
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Rookie electrician needing help!


How many wires/cables are going into the junction box now?
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 07:32 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rookie electrician needing help!


The box has on black, one white and a ground coming from inside the house. It looks like they ran electrical to a box outside and then split it off to the lamp post which is ran underground via some conduit. In the box there they just hav ethe black/white/ground spliced together with wire nuts. Just wondering how I create a 110 receptical out of this without losing power to the lamp. As you can see, I do very little electrical work in my house!
TR054935 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 07:34 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rookie electrician needing help!


Here's another attemp at the picture.

TR054935 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 08:14 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 302
Rewards Points: 266
Default

Rookie electrician needing help!


Picture still didn't work.

If its a low voltage line than you can't get a standard 120v outlet off it, if it's a standard outlet and you are later using a transformer to bring it down to low voltage you can treat it as if it was an outlet in a series and just use the other set of screws on the outlet to continue the series.
MLMIB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 08:25 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rookie electrician needing help!


Bare with me, I've never wired a box like this so I'm sturggling with how I woulde make it work. The box is just a transition point between the outside lamp and the inside series. The only thing in the box is the white/black/ground wire nutted together to run directly to the outside lamp. How exactly would I split that off to wire to a recepticle?
TR054935 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 08:39 AM   #8
Pro Slate Roofer
 
tinner666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Richmond, Va.
Posts: 1,611
Rewards Points: 1,038
Default

Rookie electrician needing help!


Short version;
Take the wire nuts off and seperate the lines.
Take a recepticle and attach the incoming hot lines to it.
Attach the outgoing lines to the other screws.
tinner666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 08:41 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,629
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

Rookie electrician needing help!


do you want the receptacle at a different location?? try this.

Make sure one of the bare grounds are bonded to the metal junction box.
Attached Thumbnails
Rookie electrician needing help!-new-bitmap-image.jpg   Rookie electrician needing help!-ground_connections_180_djfs.jpg  

Last edited by hammerlane; 04-19-2012 at 08:55 AM.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 08:42 AM   #10
Pro Slate Roofer
 
tinner666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Richmond, Va.
Posts: 1,611
Rewards Points: 1,038
Default

Rookie electrician needing help!


If you need another outgoing line, attach 6" pigtails to the outgoing side of the receplacle and pigtail the two outgoing lines to that with wire nuts.
tinner666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 08:44 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rookie electrician needing help!


Thanks for the explanation, that's perfect. I didn't realize it was that simple. I'll make sure it's a GFI since it's outdoors. Thanks again for everybody's help.
TR054935 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 08:46 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,629
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

Rookie electrician needing help!


or if you want receptacle at the junction box location do this:

I did not show the ground wires below for ease of drawing
Attached Thumbnails
Rookie electrician needing help!-new-bitmap-image2.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 08:47 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,629
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

Rookie electrician needing help!


Then used a raised duplex receptacle cover at the junction box to house the receptacle
Attached Thumbnails
Rookie electrician needing help!-raised-dup-cover.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 08:50 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rookie electrician needing help!


I think the way that you indicated before would be the easiest. Essentially the recepticle box is just "in between" the power from inside and the power going out to the lamp post. So by placing a recepticle in the middle, I solve my problem, keeping power going to the outside lamp and creating a recepticle to plug in my low voltage controller box. This all works assuming I can plug the hot wires (from the house) to the recpticle and then plug the outgoing wires (to the outside lamp) to the outgoing portion on the recepticle box. Let me know if this doesn't sound correct.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tinner666 View Post
If you need another outgoing line, attach 6" pigtails to the outgoing side of the receplacle and pigtail the two outgoing lines to that with wire nuts.
TR054935 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 11:22 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Rookie electrician needing help!


Quote:
Originally Posted by TR054935 View Post
Thanks for the explanation, that's perfect. I didn't realize it was that simple. I'll make sure it's a GFI since it's outdoors. Thanks again for everybody's help.
since it is outdoors, it will also need to be in a weatherproof enclosure. if it is a damp location, the enclosure needs to be weatherproof with the receptacle covers closed (i.e. nothing plugged into it). if it is a wet location, it will need to have a cover that is weatherproof with something plugged in.

the receptacle will also need to be listed as weather-resistant whether it is a damp or wet location (there should be a little 'WR' marking on the face of the receptacle).

the NEC defines 'damp' and 'wet' locations. there are no hard-rules (i.e. if within 'x' feet of an overhang, it can be considered damp) so it is somewhat open to interpretation. if the receptacle will be sitting out in the middle of the yard with no roof, overhang, etc., it will be considered a wet location. if it is outside under a porch roof or similar, it may be able to be considered damp. good rule of thumb is to imagine a 45 degree line from the roof edge to ground. if the receptacle is within this angle, consider it wet. if not, consider it damp. think of rain coming in at a 45 degree angle: will it reach the receptacle?

Advertisement

itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
complicating-updating new box for client, electrician messed it up-pics included Kraze Electrical 29 11-18-2012 10:14 PM
Licensed Electrician or Not? taras1 Electrical 10 04-29-2011 07:23 PM
Do I Need to Call in a Electrician to Check This Work? taras1 Electrical 6 12-13-2010 06:07 PM
Effects of electrician tape on cable richard7994 Electrical 4 08-11-2010 09:39 AM
handling unsafe work by an electrician wuxingming57 Electrical 1 11-14-2009 08:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts