Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-20-2007, 11:24 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Bernardino, Calif.
Posts: 8
Share |
Default

Romex under the house?


Can I run type NM cable fastened to the floor joists under the house? I think somebody once told me that that is considered a wet or damp location.

Doug_Shaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 11:46 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,743
Default

Romex under the house?


It is not prohibited by the nec, however local rules may apply

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 11:53 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Bernardino, Calif.
Posts: 8
Default

Romex under the house?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
It is not prohibited by the nec, however local rules may apply
Thank you very much.
Doug_Shaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 03:57 PM   #4
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Default

Romex under the house?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug_Shaver View Post
Can I run type NM cable fastened to the floor joists under the house? I think somebody once told me that that is considered a wet or damp location.
Basement? Crawl space? IS it damp?

If you secure to the undersides of the joists, don't run it out in the center. Run them as close to a wall, duct, etc, so in the future no one tries to hang anything from the wire. Drilling holes or using a running board is better, IMO.
__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 04:19 PM   #5
weekend warrior
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ohio
Posts: 186
Default

Romex under the house?


Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnJ0906 View Post
Drilling holes or using a running board is better, IMO.
drilling holes in your beams is better than staples?
johnny331 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 04:35 PM   #6
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Default

Romex under the house?


Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny331 View Post
drilling holes in your beams is better than staples?
Depends.

A PROPERLY drilled hole isn't going to weaken anything. It gets the wires up and out of the way.

It's a little hard to see exactly where he's running these wires!
__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 10:03 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Bernardino, Calif.
Posts: 8
Default

Romex under the house?


Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnJ0906 View Post
Basement? Crawl space?
It's a crawl space.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnJ0906 View Post
IS it damp?
I'm in Southern California. Normally, not even the rivers are damp.

Seriously, it does stay dry there, even when it rains.
Doug_Shaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 04:39 PM   #8
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Default

Romex under the house?


IMO, you are OK with the romex, and with stapling to the undersides of the joists. At least, I know it would fly here. I know CA may have different rules.

__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cape Cod Style House Attic/Crawl Space Insulation Help Danielg Insulation 24 05-21-2012 08:20 AM
replumbing an old house simonfrog Plumbing 7 01-30-2012 04:45 AM
200 Amp service really needed for a 830 sq ft house? overkill? alexz Electrical 7 11-16-2009 05:54 PM
Re-siding house jdig Building & Construction 5 04-10-2007 09:15 AM
Brick and block house footer question. ourzoo Building & Construction 2 07-01-2006 02:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.