Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-28-2012, 12:11 PM   #1
mtk
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

romex through brick to outside outlet, conduit needed?


Hi, I want to install an outside outlet (GFCI with in-use cover). My house is brick construction (*not* stick with brick veneer). Where the Romex passes through the brick, should it be in conduit? Or is it OK to just put the romex through the hole, and then use a nm connector to the box?
The box will be surface mounted on the brick outside.

Thanks

mtk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 12:48 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,684
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

romex through brick to outside outlet, conduit needed?


No conduit is needed. You could use conduit as a sleeve if you wish.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
mtk (08-28-2012), stickboy1375 (08-28-2012)
Old 08-28-2012, 03:55 PM   #3
mtk
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

romex through brick to outside outlet, conduit needed?


Thanks Jim!
mtk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 05:14 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,550
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

romex through brick to outside outlet, conduit needed?


Yeah definitely sleeve it
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rigid conduit installation help needed socalsteve72 Electrical 35 03-20-2012 11:36 PM
Joining romex and conduit Restyle Electrical 2 11-08-2011 03:01 PM
Secure Wires from Conduit in Sub Panel brgmgb Electrical 7 09-29-2011 09:10 PM
Running ROMEX into Conduit tlj Electrical 15 11-05-2009 07:20 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.