Romex Laying Across Joist In Attic? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-16-2006, 04:02 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 41
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Romex laying across joist in attic?


I have been doing alot of work up in my attic.
I am wondering about stepping on the romex.
Is it not a good idea?
There is tons of insulation up there so I can not tell
where the romex is laying.
Could stepping on it time and time again start to chafe it
or start to ruin it ia a way that could be a safety hazard.
Thanks Doug

Advertisement

Doug Crf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2006, 04:16 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Romex laying across joist in attic?


Yes you can hurt the romex. and if the attic is used for storage or any wires within 6 feet of the enterance no matter what are supposed to be protected by running boards.

Advertisement

jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 01:44 PM   #3
They're all fixer-uppers
 
J187's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 991
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Romex laying across joist in attic?


isn't all cable run in walk up attics supposed to be drilled into framing members 2" from edge?
J187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 02:57 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Romex laying across joist in attic?


I don't know where you got the 2 inches from. It is the same 1 /14 as with a stud. and you can use running boards in an attic instead.

Also they do not need to be protected if they are further than 6 feet from a scuttle opening. For walk up attics if there is a sloped roof it gets tricky. The nook where the roof like meets the side of the house may not be considered tall enought to be practicle storage/ crawl space. It is up to the inspector to decide if this area needs running boards or not.
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 05:53 PM   #5
They're all fixer-uppers
 
J187's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 991
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Romex laying across joist in attic?


I think you meant 1 1/4" right? I don't know where I got the 2 from, just thought that's what I read. Maybe 2" was a recommendation for framing members.
J187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ranting about attic work IvoryRing Electrical 6 04-16-2008 08:21 AM
Allowed to run more than one romex cable through a single hole in a joist? J187 Electrical 7 08-17-2007 09:46 AM
Running Romex up from basement to attic tra999 Electrical 1 07-25-2006 05:21 AM
Running Romex in the attic mdalli Electrical 7 07-06-2006 06:35 PM
correct joist size for attic helpless handyman Building & Construction 1 07-06-2006 12:29 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts