Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-08-2011, 07:02 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Romex Junctions


Hello, this is my first post. I've searched around, but not too clear on my situation.

I want to add two circuits to my attached garage. My breaker panel is on the outside of the house, on the other side of the house. There are two unused breakers on my 2nd subpanel, where I plan to add the circuits. Also, when the circuits get to the garage, I want to use EMT, as the outlets will be on the wall in the garage.

My question is: is it okay to run THHN/THWN wire to the breaker panel, then add a junction box in the attic close to where the breaker panel is and transition the wires to Romex. This Romex will run across the attic to where the opening in the wall to the garage is with another junction box, this time going from Romex back to THHN/THWN wires.

I haven't ventured in the attic to where the breaker panel is, but I want to utilize the exisiting conduits that lead to the panel if possible. Any help is appreciated. Thanks! BTW I live in California, if that helps with any code issues.

fsae0607 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 08:14 PM   #2
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Romex Junctions


romex can be sleeved in EMT

__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 10:44 AM   #3
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Romex Junctions


Making splices in the j-boxes and running romex across the attic, box to box, is fine (done properly). You know the THHN has to be in conduit, right? Do you have an empty pipe from the attic to your breaker panel or are you looking at using one that already has conductors in it?
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 03:23 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Romex Junctions


Quote:
Originally Posted by SD515 View Post
Making splices in the j-boxes and running romex across the attic, box to box, is fine (done properly). You know the THHN has to be in conduit, right? Do you have an empty pipe from the attic to your breaker panel or are you looking at using one that already has conductors in it?

Yes, I know that the THHN wire must be in conduit. As I mentioned, I haven't ventured to the end of the attic where the panel is. I'm taking a day off of work this friday to do it. I'm hoping to use an existing conduit with wires in it, but if it's too full, obviously it looks like I'll have to add a new one. I know how to install junction boxes, as I've done it a few times already when I installed a ceiling fan and bathroom fan.

Cool, good to know that j-boxes & Romex runs are okay. I just wanted avoid running conduit and pulling wires along the entire attic. Thanks!!!
fsae0607 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 05:51 PM   #5
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Romex Junctions


Oops...I should add, that is as long as the use of Romex is allowed in your area. Some places it isn't. I know, I scratch my head over that too.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 06:48 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Romex Junctions


Quote:
Originally Posted by SD515 View Post
Oops...I should add, that is as long as the use of Romex is allowed in your area. Some places it isn't. I know, I scratch my head over that too.
Here in southern California it is. Looks like I'm buying me a 100' roll of 12-2 on friday!
fsae0607 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 07:06 PM   #7
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Romex Junctions


Lucky you...hmmm...a tank of gas or a roll of 12/2...about the same price now-a-days....who'd a thunk it....
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 12:04 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Romex Junctions


Well, I pulled all-nighter last night, working until 12:30 am. I used an existing 1/2" conduit that was run from the breaker panel to the swamp cooler. It only had two 14 gauge wires in it. It was perfect because it runs from the side of the house to the panel, with a j-box in the middle of the house. The part that comes out of the house has an elbow with a removable cover. Also, my main panel has two 20-amp breakers that are unused! Perfect for my two garage circuits.

So I bought a 75' fish tape and ran four 12 gauge THHN/THWN wires to the panel through the j-box. Next I ran two sections of 12-2 Romex to another j-box by the garage access hole in the attic. Finally, I ran 1/2" flex conduit from the last j-box to the garage with THHN/THWN wire. Now all I have left is to run my EMT and outlets in the garage.

The biggest pain was running the wire through the conduit... If I see 1/2" EMT I'm gonna scream!!! Thanks everyone for your advice.

fsae0607 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Identify age of old Romex - also funny ground Leah Frances Electrical 9 02-06-2012 12:07 AM
romex clamped against bx knockout in old box kbm774 Electrical 11 08-16-2010 01:53 PM
Connecting Romex at Panel Bocolo Electrical 14 02-21-2009 05:55 AM
Cost Difference Between Conduit & Romex Shawns4 Electrical 39 08-25-2008 05:01 PM
Pulling romex thru wall with old romex? Doug Crf Electrical 4 04-11-2006 09:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.