Romex Fastened Behind Studs - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-02-2009, 06:18 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Romex fastened behind studs


I have many stud walls in basement remodel that stand in front of poured foundation basement wall faced with foil-faced fiberglas insulation. Rather than drill all the studs to run Romex horizntal from outlet to outlet, I would like to just run behnd the stud (between the stud/foil-faced insulation/wall gap) as there is plent of room. Can this be done and if so how to secure ? I was thinking of putting a loop ever < 4.5' and stapling it to the stud, or just drilling here. Or just space the outlets 4.5' and achor < 8" there. It will be a lot quicker, please advise.

Advertisement

WillieBeeGee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 09:01 PM   #2
Member
 
Bigplanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 525
Rewards Points: 518
Default

Romex fastened behind studs


Quote:
Originally Posted by WillieBeeGee View Post
I have many stud walls in basement remodel that stand in front of poured foundation basement wall faced with foil-faced fiberglas insulation. Rather than drill all the studs to run Romex horizntal from outlet to outlet, I would like to just run behnd the stud (between the stud/foil-faced insulation/wall gap) as there is plent of room. Can this be done and if so how to secure ? I was thinking of putting a loop ever < 4.5' and stapling it to the stud, or just drilling here. Or just space the outlets 4.5' and achor < 8" there. It will be a lot quicker, please advise.
Article 334 of the NEC covers romex applications and installation.

334.10 (B) says:

(A) Type NM. Type NM cable shall be permitted as follows:
(1) For both exposed and concealed work in normally dry locations except as prohibited in 334.10(3)
(2) To be installed or fished in air voids in masonry block or tile walls

Clearly fishing in air voids is permitted, so I believe this is permitted as you describe. I read the rest of the article and found no prohibition of what you describe, though romex must be supported in stud walls. Stapling it to the studs would seem to be required, though I don't 'think so' in this particular instance. This is just my opinion from reading the code section. Someone with 'real world' experience hopefully will read this thread and clear up this matter.

Advertisement


Last edited by Bigplanz; 05-02-2009 at 09:03 PM.
Bigplanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 02:52 AM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rahway, NJ
Posts: 168
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to Magnettica
Default

Romex fastened behind studs


You can do this but you'll still have to secure the cable every 54" (4 1/2 feet) and within 12" of each box, or 8" of any plastic clampless boxes.
Magnettica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 07:51 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Romex fastened behind studs


Thanks guys. Do you think I should pull the Romex a little forward, loop it and staple, or maybe use a plastic loop/screwdown. I have a lot of applications for running on the back-side of studs in air voids and plenums/bulkheads, and need a good way to attched to the open backside, which is of course harder to "get at" with the hammer to staple.

Thanks again for your help
WillieBeeGee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 11:18 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 77
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Romex fastened behind studs


I drill every third stud if on 16", every other on 24". Keeps it from drooping, looks good and doesnt need a staple.
unclduey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 04:34 PM   #6
Professional Wood Shafter
 
ryanh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 186
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Romex fastened behind studs


Can definally do this. I see this in alot of new basement construction doesn't look as nice but its faster i guess and once its insulated and covered it all does the same thing. Havent seen anyone use a loop just stapled 4-5' feet.. Might be easier to drill holes in the studs though rather than get behind some places to put a staple

Advertisement

ryanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unsure of best way to mount studs. Brandnewruins Carpentry 6 04-24-2009 05:12 AM
How difficult is it to learn to use metal studs? YerDugliness Building & Construction 7 08-18-2008 07:59 PM
using 8' studs vs 7'-9" studs RINAIL Carpentry 2 07-10-2008 05:16 PM
nails and staples missed studs in garage dingler44 Building & Construction 1 10-11-2006 12:10 AM
How to line up trusses with studs aero_ub Carpentry 5 04-24-2006 04:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts