Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-22-2011, 08:52 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Romex conecter question


Can you run 2 pieces of 12/2 romex through 3/8 metal clamp type romex connector with a lock nut. I want to mount three outdoor light in series using the exterior mounted weather proof round boxes and there is only one 1/2 inch threaded opening in the back. I want to take the lock nut off and just screw it in the back of the box. I am putting these on the side wall of my pole building and want to run the wire in the interior wall. I want to know if it will meet code. Any help is appreciated.

stevo1213 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stevo1213 For This Useful Post:
s4alex (05-16-2013)
Old 11-22-2011, 08:54 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,698
Rewards Points: 2,194
Default

Romex conecter question


Many of those connectors can secure two cables in certain size ranges. You need to check the package to make sure.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 11:33 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Romex conecter question


I looked already and it does not say anything about it on the package.
stevo1213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 11:56 PM   #4
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 983
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Romex conecter question


It should have a rating some where. Might have to look the model up online. That being said, I wouldn't hesitate to put 2 flat cables in one connector
jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 03:06 PM   #5
DIY Apprentice
 
tripflex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 110
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Romex conecter question


I'm not sure if it's up to code as i've been out of the business for about 5 years but that's how we would hook up four square boxes with no problem.

Another option would be to use a hole saw and make a larger hole to support a larger cable clamp, then you would use the locknut to hold it in place.

Is this being inspected?

Any reason why you are using 12ga wire? Why not 14?
__________________
"How else am i supposed to build my tool collection and owe home depot lots of money? That's why I DIY"
2,200 SQ ft 3/2 Lake house with in-ground pool: http://picasaweb.google.com/tripflex
Help us help you by posting pictures with your question!
tripflex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 12:39 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Romex conecter question


Yes I am getting this inspected. I can use 14/2 but have been mostly using 12/2 throughout the building. I noticed there are 2 cables going through Romex connectors in my service panel and it was inspected when the house was built 14 years ago.

stevo1213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Romex Junctions fsae0607 Electrical 7 03-12-2011 12:04 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM
"Common Path" limits for Romex -- Code question burro Electrical 4 08-10-2008 03:43 PM
hrv question indep HVAC 3 07-17-2008 10:39 PM
Romex to BX fifaboy Electrical 1 02-27-2005 04:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.