Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-11-2010, 12:11 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3
Share |
Smile

Romex/conduit


Is there any reason for not running a total of 4 romex wires through a 1” conduit?



I am rewiring 2 bathrooms and running the wiring from the crawlspace of the house. I need to run 3 12/2 romex (to 3 GFI’s) and 1 14/2 romex across the joists. There is no room for a running board and I do not want to bore holes into the joists. Is there any reason I could not run the total of 4 romex wires through a 1” conduit for 20 feet?



Thank you.


Last edited by Cynthia02; 09-11-2010 at 01:46 PM.
Cynthia02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 12:12 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

Romex/conduit


For how long of a distance?

Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
Cynthia02 (09-11-2010)
Old 09-11-2010, 12:18 PM   #3
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 978
Default

Romex/conduit


there is no need. staple the wires to the bottoms of the joists
jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jimmy21 For This Useful Post:
Cynthia02 (09-11-2010)
Old 09-11-2010, 12:18 PM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,755
Default

Romex/conduit


How can there be room for a 1" pipe but no room for running boards?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmy21 View Post
there is no need. staple the wires to the bottoms of the joists
2008 NEC violation.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
Cynthia02 (09-11-2010)
Old 09-11-2010, 01:06 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3
Default

Romex/conduit


It is about a 20 run. I thought you could not run from one joist to the next with nothing supporting the wires? There is about an inch of space because of the concrete block wall, other wires, HVAC, bathroom and kitchen plumbing intake/waste, telephone wires and whatever else I have left out. Everything going on in my house seems to be happening right in this area. Spaghetti comes to mind every time I am in that crawl space it makes me want to rip it all out and do it over more logically. But Im not completely insane.


20 Feet
Cynthia02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 05:02 PM   #6
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 978
Default

Romex/conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
2008 NEC violation.

reference?
jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 05:13 PM   #7
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,755
Default

Romex/conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmy21 View Post
reference?
2008 nec 334.15(c)
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 06:08 PM   #8
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

Romex/conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cynthia02 View Post
It is about a 20 run. I thought you could not run from one joist to the next with nothing supporting the wires? Th
The reason you can't do that is not for support, it's to prevent people from hanging things from the exposed wires.

Do you have a dropped ceiing in the basement or is this exposed and unfinished? If there is a dropped ceiling, you can run them under the joists, stapled to each one.

You can put a "running board" (ie. piece of wood) under the joists and run the wire right next to it.This prevents something from hanging on the wire.

Romex is not supposed to be in conduit except for short lengths to protect it from damage, like running down a few feet from the ceiling to a light switch or something. 20 feet...that may also be ok not sure, let the experts chime in.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 06:12 PM   #9
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Romex/conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post

Romex is not supposed to be in conduit except for short lengths to protect it from damage, like running down a few feet from the ceiling to a light switch or something. 20 feet...that may also be ok not sure, let the experts chime in.

I would have to do some calculations (which means actually looking something up and it is Saturday evening so the spirit is a bit lacking) but I suspect that 4 NM cables of any size would be overfill for a 1" conduit. Due to the length of the conduit, it would be beyond the general "if you can cram it in, it's ok" fill allowances of a short nipple.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 06:14 PM   #10
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

Romex/conduit


Oh please, what better could you possibly have to do on a Saturday night :P
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 06:20 PM   #11
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Romex/conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
Oh please, what better could you possibly have to do on a Saturday night :P
well:



all come to mind.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nap For This Useful Post:
secutanudu (09-11-2010)
Old 09-11-2010, 06:22 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Romex/conduit


If the calcs/sizes I have are correct

(3) 12-2's @ .450 diameter
(1) 14-2 @ .390 diameter

No way you can use 1" & meet code
You would need 1.5" to be below 40% fill
Then there is derating to deal with
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 06:29 PM   #13
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Romex/conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
If the calcs/sizes I have are correct

(3) 12-2's @ .450 diameter
(1) 14-2 @ .390 diameter

No way you can use 1" & meet code
You would need 1.5" to be below 40% fill
Then there is derating to deal with
and with Dave around, I don't usually have to do any calc's anyway. He makes a darn good apprentice.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 11:49 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3
Default

Romex/conduit


It's a crawlspace not a basement so can I hang wires across joists? What do I need to know about a running board and could I attach the board to my concrete wall? I am in western Maryland.
Cynthia02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 02:24 PM   #15
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 978
Default

Romex/conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cynthia02 View Post
It's a crawlspace not a basement so can I hang wires across joists? What do I need to know about a running board and could I attach the board to my concrete wall? I am in western Maryland.
apparently, which i didnt know, They added that you must have a running board along side your cables, to protect them. This was an existing code for basements, but they added crawlspaces to it. Since i wasn't even aware of this until this thread, i can tell you it doesn't get done here in crawlspaces, and its not enforced. All of the home runs in my personal house run down my crawlspace on the floor joists, and i just had an inspection 2 months ago. The inspector didn't say anything about no protection, and i know he saw them cuz he complimented how nice they look.

But the point of that article is to protect the wire. I think the logic is that the board will stick out farther than the wire, if you swung a hammer or something, youd probably hit the board instead of the wire

jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.