Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-20-2009, 05:51 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 179
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Romex in conduit


Hey all, I'm wiring my garage with 12/2 romex and i want to run the cable through the ceiling joist and drop down to each receptical mounted to the concrete block wall with romex in conduit. What size conduit can I use for 2 cables of 12/2 (down then back up to next drop) Thanks

James Con is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 07:17 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Romex in conduit


What type garage is this, attached or detached?

rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 07:35 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 179
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Romex in conduit


Attached
James Con is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 08:26 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Romex in conduit


Since you are sleeving it through the conduit, fill does not apply. You can use 1/2" if you like. Not sure how easy its going to be. Staple the romex before entering the conduit, make sure the ends of the conduit are smooth, use bushings or, if your using 1/2" emt, you can find an emt to romex fitting at the big box stores.

Before entering the box, you may want to use an offset, since the conduit runs flush to the wall. Use the appropirate clamps to secure the conduit to the masonry.

Last edited by rgsgww; 02-20-2009 at 08:29 AM.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
is it OK to have 12-2 romex in 1/2" outdoor conduit red86yota Electrical 23 01-16-2009 08:16 PM
Romex in conduit? tommy potatoes Electrical 14 01-13-2009 08:28 PM
Why not Romex in Conduit? Mr Chips Electrical 3 11-08-2008 09:58 AM
Use of unsheathed Romex NM-B wires in conduit? WoodworkerDave Electrical 10 09-29-2008 05:57 PM
Cost Difference Between Conduit & Romex Shawns4 Electrical 39 08-25-2008 05:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.