Romex Cable And Fibreglass Insulation - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2008, 11:46 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Romex Cable and fibreglass insulation


Here is a question:
I have outside walls with fibreglass insulation (owen corning pinkplus) with a paper vapor retarder cover. This cover is not fire resitant unless covered by drywall or similar (big warning on the paper). So far no problem.

Now I need to run cables in the same wall. The question now is: Can Romex be run on top of the paper (and in contact of the paper) or does it have to be buried inside the fibre glass?

Alertanive would be to remove the paper around teh area where cables are run.

Thanks

Advertisement

fmva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 11:50 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,959
Rewards Points: 2,314
Default

Romex Cable and fibreglass insulation


I try to run the cables in the middle of the fiberglass, but either is fine.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 11:59 AM   #3
Member
 
RippySkippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 1,233
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Romex Cable and fibreglass insulation


What jbfan says...when you hang it...split it so you have 1/2 on the back side, 1/2 on the front, you'll be fine.
__________________
when it comes to breakfast, the chicken is dedicated, the pig is committed.
LMASD
RippySkippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 12:03 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Romex Cable and fibreglass insulation


In the insulation, out of the insulation anyway you can get it from point A to point B. If you are fishing it into existing walls, no staples required. If you are running cables in new construction (open walls) then you must secure the cables with approved staples.
Reference NEC article 334.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 01:34 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Romex Cable and fibreglass insulation


Question answered... I'll put the cable between the insulation.

Thanks!
fmva is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
insulation , romex


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts