Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-03-2010, 05:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 7
Share |
Default

romex cable


is 2/3 romex ok for a 100 amp. sub-panel. also is the ground wire sufficient.

kgh60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 05:27 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

romex cable


Where are you located ?
How far to the sub panel ?

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 09:33 PM   #3
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

romex cable


A sub panel requires the two hots, a neutral, and a ground. Is the sub in the same building as the main or will you be burying the cable underground? Do you already have the cable and if so, what is actually printed on the cable for a wire type? You asked if the ground wire is sufficient but you don't say what size the ground is. 2/3 wire tells me you have three #2 wires and no ground.

Last edited by a7ecorsair; 06-03-2010 at 09:37 PM.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 02:59 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 7
Default

romex cable


is 2/3 romex & its ground sufficient for a 100 amp. sub-panel . the panel is 40 feet away from the main panel. also it is in the same building. from n.y.
kgh60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 03:01 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,329
Default

romex cable


Copper or aluminum?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 03:03 PM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,756
Default

romex cable


Cu or AL conductors?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Copper or aluminum?
Damn I'm slow.

2-2-2-4 Al SER 75amps
1-1-1-3 Al SER 85 amps
1/0-1/0-1/0-2 Al SER 100 amps
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 03:11 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 7
Default

romex cable


the romex cable 2/3 is copper
kgh60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 03:14 PM   #8
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,756
Default

romex cable


Quote:
Originally Posted by kgh60 View Post
the romex cable 2/3 is copper
95 amps
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 03:17 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 7
Default

romex cable


do you know if the 2/3 romex copper not ser cable is ok for 100 amp. sub - panel.
kgh60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 03:21 PM   #10
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,756
Default

romex cable


Should be if it is installed in a dry location.

What brand is it?
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 03:23 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 7
Default

romex cable


if i us a 90 amp. 2-pole breaker on the 2/3 romex will that be sufficient, for a sub-panel
kgh60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 03:28 PM   #12
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,756
Default

romex cable


If your total load doesn't exceed 90 amps.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 03:29 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 7
Default

romex cable


it is in a dry location,i don`t know the brand.

the ground wire in 2/3 romex is a#8 wire.
kgh60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 03:36 PM   #14
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,756
Default

romex cable


If it's romex it should be marked on the sheathing.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 03:42 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 7
Default

romex cable


it is a #8 ground wire. is it sufficient for the sub-panel.

kgh60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cable question tommy_vercetti Home Theater 15 09-26-2009 09:10 AM
Romex Cable and fibreglass insulation fmva Electrical 4 11-13-2008 12:34 PM
Cut resistance of Romex cable? KE2KB Electrical 3 10-25-2008 02:37 PM
Allowed to run more than one romex cable through a single hole in a joist? J187 Electrical 7 08-17-2007 08:46 AM
Coaxial Cable Question bahaisamurai Home Theater 9 08-08-2007 02:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.