Romex In Attic - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2009, 07:32 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: OR
Posts: 168
Rewards Points: 150
Default

romex in attic


I need to add two home runs for an addition I've built on my house. Easiest would be through the attic but there's two feet of blown in insulation, so running the romex across the ceiling joists will be really nasty. Can I run it in one of the side angles of the w-trusses just below the roof peak? Seems like it's out of the way there. Thanks. -- Phil S

Advertisement

philS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 07:54 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Long Island
Posts: 348
Rewards Points: 250
Default

romex in attic


sounds OK. hate hidden wires.

Advertisement

II Weeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 08:03 PM   #3
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

romex in attic


Quote:
Originally Posted by II Weeks View Post
sounds OK. hate hidden wires.
Do you prefer your wire exposed?

Hiding wires, Hiding junctions

Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 08:06 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: OR
Posts: 168
Rewards Points: 150
Default

romex in attic


forgot to mention, there's no staircase or pull-down ladder access to attic. Found an earlier thread here that sounds like i'm ok since there'll be a full 3.5" separating romex from roof.
philS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 09:18 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

romex in attic


Please don't splice in the attic...it makes the next person's job much harder.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 09:23 PM   #6
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

romex in attic


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
Please don't splice in the attic...it makes the next person's job much harder.

It makes no difference...
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 09:30 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: OR
Posts: 168
Rewards Points: 150
Default

romex in attic


Thnks guys. This job just got quite a bit more pleasant!
philS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 04:43 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

romex in attic


Quote:
It makes no difference
It makes a HUGE diffence. Here, you can't really walk in the attics. They are strictly for insulation and mechanical systems. It's hard enough troubleshooting when you can see all the jb's. When they are buried in the attic and it's 160 degrees up there....not good.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 06:11 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

romex in attic


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
It makes a HUGE diffence. Here, you can't really walk in the attics. They are strictly for insulation and mechanical systems. It's hard enough troubleshooting when you can see all the jb's. When they are buried in the attic and it's 160 degrees up there....not good.

Over here most houses have 1-2 ft of blown in insulation, in the attic, temps in summer may get up to 160 degrees, in winter, it will get below 0.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 06:50 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 120
Rewards Points: 75
Default

romex in attic


If a splice if properly made, how likely is it that someone will have to come back and trouble shoot it? I hate working in attics, but if it was unavoidable, I'd put a splice there before I'd leave a blank plate one of the rooms below.
LanterDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 10:25 PM   #11
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

romex in attic


You guys done crying?
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 10:30 PM   #12
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

romex in attic


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
You guys done crying?
Whats the matter? Can't feel sorry for the next guy?

I'm not concerned how the next guys feels, as long as it is to code.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 10:31 PM   #13
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

romex in attic


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Whats the matter? Can't feel sorry for the next guy?

I'm not concerned how the next guys feels, as long as it is to code.

The way I feel is, if it were easy somebody else would be doing it, plain and simple.

Advertisement

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raccoons in the attic electricpete Pest Control 17 05-12-2011 05:02 AM
Recently Topped Up Attic with Blown Insulation...Now I have Frost/Condensation earthad1 Building & Construction 81 02-18-2011 01:42 PM
Romex laying across joist in attic? Doug Crf Electrical 4 08-17-2006 05:53 PM
Running Romex up from basement to attic tra999 Electrical 1 07-25-2006 05:21 AM
Running Romex in the attic mdalli Electrical 7 07-06-2006 06:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts