Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-13-2013, 06:18 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Romex


Is it ok to run 2-12/2 romex cables in a 3/4 pvc conduit? Will there be a heat problem?

fitter457 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 06:21 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 843
Default

Romex


Quote:
Originally Posted by fitter457 View Post
Is it ok to run 2-12/2 romex cables in a 3/4 pvc conduit? Will there be a heat problem?
Not supposed to run romex in conduit. Except a short run too protect the romex on a cement wall.

Someone will be along to give the NEC code on it and a more technical reason why not!


Last edited by Hardway; 03-13-2013 at 06:26 PM.
Hardway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 06:24 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
Default

Romex


What is the reason why your not suppose to? Are there any dangers?
fitter457 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 06:40 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,779
Default

Romex


The romex can not be installed in a damp or wet location, so if the conduit is inside you are fine.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
Kyle_in_rure (03-13-2013)
Old 03-13-2013, 06:50 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
Default

Romex


It will be inside a building that makes cheese. It will be humid. Think it will be ok.
fitter457 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 06:51 PM   #6
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Default

Romex


How long of a run are we talking about? I believe if there are so many wires in a conduit you have to do some derating because of heat. Hopefully someone will come along with specifics.
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 06:53 PM   #7
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,083
Default

Romex


its fine, the only issue that arises is conduit fill.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 06:54 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,779
Default

Romex


If it is a long pull, I might step up to 1" just to make it easier.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 06:57 PM   #9
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,083
Default

Romex


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
If it is a long pull, I might step up to 1" just to make it easier.
Or just use a different wiring method since I spent the time to install the conduit to begin with... :-\
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
jbfan (03-13-2013)
Old 03-13-2013, 07:33 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
Default

Romex


Thanks for the info guys
fitter457 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 08:08 PM   #11
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

Romex


Depending on the buildings classification NM may not be legal in conduit or otherwise.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 08:13 PM   #12
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,083
Default

Romex


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Depending on the buildings classification NM may not be legal in conduit or otherwise.
Since this is a DIY site, I hope that it is Residential, and a non issue...
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 08:55 PM   #13
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

Romex


Quote:
It will be inside a building that makes cheese.
Just covering the bases.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (03-13-2013)
Old 03-13-2013, 08:57 PM   #14
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,083
Default

Romex


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Just covering the bases.
totally missed that post... Thanks.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 09:11 PM   #15
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Default

Romex


Does the NEC have special rules for cheese-making buildings?

Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Romex in Conduit Outdoors starrapido Electrical 3 11-27-2012 10:00 AM
Identify age of old Romex - also funny ground Leah Frances Electrical 9 02-06-2012 12:07 AM
How to build a romex spinner jimmy21 Electrical 17 02-06-2012 12:01 AM
Fishing Romex through walls Tetranitrate Electrical 6 07-09-2011 06:12 AM
romex clamped against bx knockout in old box kbm774 Electrical 11 08-16-2010 01:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.