Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-30-2014, 10:16 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 35
Share |
Default

ROHS compliance replace ballast help


Hi,
I will post pictures to help my explanation.
1) Im replacing two 2tube 32wT12 ballasts with ONE 4tube 32wT8 ballast.
If this sounds unwise let me know.-)

2) Keystone made the old broken ballast, and they said make sure the new ballast is properly GROUNDED. Is this simply a copper wire from the fixture metal part to the box? (all EMT conduit here in IL).


Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
ROHS compliance replace ballast help-img_6003.jpg   ROHS compliance replace ballast help-img_6006.jpg  


Last edited by kree; 01-30-2014 at 10:43 AM.
kree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 10:50 AM   #2
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,985
Default

ROHS compliance replace ballast help


You need to be sure the emt is fastened with the proper connecter to the metal fixture where the power supply enters. At that point the screws that hold the ballast to the fixture will ground it to the metal and via the metal to the emt.

Grounding is important in your case mainly for protection against electrocution in the event of a ground fault which would energize the fixture metal if not properly bonded to the emt.

The metal of the fixture when proper grounded to the ballast also aids in starting the lamps but this would be more important if you were using an electromagnetic ballast or installing in a cold location like a walk in freezer.

__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 01-30-2014 at 10:58 AM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 11:35 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 35
Default

ROHS compliance replace ballast help


Thanks!
Yes there is at least one screw that goes through the metal part of the fixture directly through one mounting hole in the box.
Will that do?
kree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 12:03 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,519
Default

ROHS compliance replace ballast help


If there is a box above the fixture it needs to be fully accessible.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 08:37 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 296
Default

ROHS compliance replace ballast help


Let's be sure that the sockets are right for the new ballast, shunted or unshunted.
ionized is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 12:42 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 35
Default

ROHS compliance replace ballast help


Thanks. Shunted, not shunted....Im not familiar with those terms.

Anyway...replaced T12two two-light ballasts with a new T8 four-light ballast.

$20....and about 8 wirenuts/connections. It works!

The fixture is 7 years old, and always had electrical ballasts...once I found out they made a four-light ballast that I could use it halved my cost.

Thanks again
kree is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kree For This Useful Post:
Stubbie (02-17-2014)
Old 02-17-2014, 01:50 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 296
Default

ROHS compliance replace ballast help


Shunted sockets are for instant start and there is only one part of the circuit connected into each socket. The only current that flows is through the arc between the two filaments in the lamp. There maybe two wires connected to some sockets for ease of connecting things.

Unshunted sockets are for rapid start/programmed start. They have two circuits connected to each socket. One circuit is providing current through the filament, from one socket connection to the other, to control its temperature. The other circuit provides the arc current just as in the instant start.

ionized is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bad ballast from store? Wrong ballast? Hossenfeffer Electrical 6 05-24-2013 11:42 PM
Breaker buzz when ballast is on?!?! Help please lafcam Electrical 4 04-22-2013 07:00 PM
T8 Electronic Ballast Wiring - Help Needed!! mikeeyuk Electrical 1 02-17-2013 06:41 AM
No ballast in 48 inch fluorescent fixture. Timster Electrical 16 06-10-2010 04:02 AM
DIY Replace Ballast? roztom Electrical 6 12-12-2009 09:09 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.