Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-02-2008, 08:18 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 101
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Rigid Nonmetallic PVC Conduit Schedule 40 question?


How many 12-2 cables can I put in a 2" pipe?

Thanks

Let me tell you what Im doing actually. I finishing the basement. I have 12 circuits that Im running. Im trying to copy the existing setup coming out of my breaker box. I am running a pvc conduit (as stated in my TITLE question) elbowed out of my circuit panel and up about 4 feet to the joist directly above. This is where the PVC will stop just as the contractor did with the existing wiring. Then run the wires from there to there appropriate place.


Last edited by luweee; 04-02-2008 at 08:27 PM.
luweee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 08:19 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Rigid Nonmetallic PVC Conduit Schedule 40 question?


Quote:
Originally Posted by luweee View Post
How many 12-2 cables can I put in a 2" pipe?

Thanks
legally or just how many?

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 08:24 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,695
Rewards Points: 2,188
Default

Rigid Nonmetallic PVC Conduit Schedule 40 question?


If the conduit is outside = zero.

Why not use individual conductors?
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 08:29 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 101
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Rigid Nonmetallic PVC Conduit Schedule 40 question?


Thanks Chris and Jim. Sorry... I edited my original question. Please read.

LEGALLY.

Thanks guys
luweee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 08:43 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Rigid Nonmetallic PVC Conduit Schedule 40 question?


Realisticly , 12 will fit easily.


Technically you could get turned down because the cable isn't secured to the panel.

You wouldn't get turned down in AZ for that installation.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 08:48 PM   #6
Cow
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 116
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Rigid Nonmetallic PVC Conduit Schedule 40 question?


Four 12-2's on a 20 amp breaker. Or ten 12-2's on a 15 amp breaker. My calcs show you aren't over the fill requirements either. Like 220 said, if you're finishing the basement this would be a code violation.

Last edited by Cow; 04-02-2008 at 08:50 PM.
Cow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 08:49 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 101
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Rigid Nonmetallic PVC Conduit Schedule 40 question?


HMMMMMMMMMM

Thanks 220/221

question again then. How did the Contractor secure them OR DID HE?

BTW dont know if I explained but the conduit will be secured with a threaded nipple. All the pipe is for electrical.. in fact it is exactly the same as what the Contractor used when they built the house 4 years ago.

Thanks again 220.221
luweee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 09:32 PM   #8
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,695
Rewards Points: 2,188
Default

Rigid Nonmetallic PVC Conduit Schedule 40 question?


Seems to overly complicate your install. Why not just leave the panel and run the cables up to the joist bay?

If you are short on knockouts most connectors will accept 2 flat cables.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 09:44 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 101
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Rigid Nonmetallic PVC Conduit Schedule 40 question?


just thought it would "Look" Neater!.... I dont know.

Is there a code for whats exposed right atthe service panel?
luweee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 11:15 AM   #10
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Rigid Nonmetallic PVC Conduit Schedule 40 question?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
If the conduit is outside = zero.
12-2 UF?
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 11:19 AM   #11
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Rigid Nonmetallic PVC Conduit Schedule 40 question?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cow View Post
Four 12-2's on a 20 amp breaker. Or ten 12-2's on a 15 amp breaker.
HUH, could you explain this?
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 03:51 PM   #12
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Rigid Nonmetallic PVC Conduit Schedule 40 question?


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
Realisticly , 12 will fit easily.


Technically you could get turned down because the cable isn't secured to the panel.

Technically if he follows 312.5(C) he's good to go...
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 04:05 PM   #13
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Rigid Nonmetallic PVC Conduit Schedule 40 question?


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
Realisticly , 12 will fit easily.


Technically you could get turned down because the cable isn't secured to the panel.

Technically if he follows 312.5(C) he's good to go...


I did the math and I came up with 18 #12-2's, this of course is only good if your PVC is less than 24" in length, ( no derating required) and you MUST follow the rules of 312.5(C) to have cables enter a top of a cabinet with a raceway...

Last edited by chris75; 04-03-2008 at 04:10 PM.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 04:21 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Rigid Nonmetallic PVC Conduit Schedule 40 question?


Quote:
question again then. How did the Contractor secure them OR DID HE?
No.....not necessary except for the pesky code. Inspectors here ALWAYS disregard the "secured to the enclosure" thing....ALWAYS.





Quote:
Technically if he follows 312.5(C) he's good to go...

Quote:
out of my circuit panel and up about 4 feet to the joist directly above.

It will look cleaner and the cables will be protected. That's how I would do it. Be sure to leave a couple inches of sheath showing in the panel for future troubleshooting purpose. It's nice to know which hots go with which neutrals.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 05:48 PM   #15
Cow
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 116
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Rigid Nonmetallic PVC Conduit Schedule 40 question?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jrclen View Post
HUH, could you explain this?
Yes, derating will stop him before he meets the fill requirements.

Cow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Conduit Fill & Ampacity capndave Electrical 37 03-26-2008 02:16 PM
Conduit, above ground, code question davewest Electrical 6 02-27-2008 03:55 PM
Wire size and type in Rigid Metal Conduit Al the Diy guy Electrical 5 02-05-2008 08:31 PM
Rigid insulation question Endeavor General DIY Discussions 2 07-17-2007 10:27 AM
Rigid Metal Straight Threads rjordan392 Electrical 2 06-24-2007 11:42 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.