Rigid Conduit Installation Help Needed - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-2012, 08:38 AM   #16
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Rigid conduit installation help needed


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
And why only 1-1/2"? Most places 2" is the minimum mast size. Is the service/feeder drop supported by the mast?
Must be a southern thing I because they don't get snow and ice.

Advertisement

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 11:13 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Rigid conduit installation help needed


Hubs are not required inside unless you wasted money on an outdoor panel. Do you have a leak right over the service panel?
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 03:50 PM   #18
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 703
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Rigid conduit installation help needed


looks like the back side of a semi flush meter combo in the pictures, which would probably NEMA 3R
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 04:26 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Rigid conduit installation help needed


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
Hubs are not required inside unless you wasted money on an outdoor panel. Do you have a leak right over the service panel?
it's a 200a semi-flush panel/meter combo
socalsteve72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 04:29 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Rigid conduit installation help needed


Quote:
Originally Posted by Julius793 View Post
We aren't understanding each other, take a 2 hole strap, drill out the stuco/concrete and use anchors. Why do you think you can only strap to wood?
Stucco is only an inch thick and i didn't think that it could support much of anything
socalsteve72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 04:33 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Rigid conduit installation help needed


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
No, it will NOT bottom out. Just to be nosy, where is your meter?
The hub connects the conduit to the meter/ panel see attached pic of outside garage wall
Attached Thumbnails
Rigid conduit installation help needed-conduit-3.jpg  

Last edited by socalsteve72; 03-16-2012 at 04:36 PM. Reason: mistype
socalsteve72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 04:46 PM   #22
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,570
Rewards Points: 2,036
Default

Rigid conduit installation help needed


Quote:
Originally Posted by Julius793 View Post
We aren't understanding each other, take a 2 hole strap, drill out the stuco/concrete and use anchors. Why do you think you can only strap to wood?
You've never worked on stucco, have you? You can't anchor anything substantial to it. It is entirely non-structural and fairly delicate. Trying to drill in an anchor from the back side will break out a chunk on the exterior.
mpoulton is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 04:50 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Rigid conduit installation help needed


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
You've never worked on stucco, have you? You can't anchor anything substantial to it. It is entirely non-structural and fairly delicate. Trying to drill in an anchor from the back side will break out a chunk on the exterior.
My point exactly
socalsteve72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 05:04 PM   #24
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Rigid conduit installation help needed


2x4 or steel plate between the 2x4's in your garage could be used and you could bolt the straps to that to hold the pipe.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rrolleston For This Useful Post:
socalsteve72 (03-16-2012)
Old 03-16-2012, 05:54 PM   #25
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,999
Rewards Points: 2,796
Default

Rigid conduit installation help needed


What does your power company say is acceptable support?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
plummen (03-16-2012)
Old 03-16-2012, 11:47 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Rigid conduit installation help needed


SCE says 15" max distance between supports for 1 1/2 rigid conduit. I've got 7 feet inside exposed wall going through double header and rafter beams
socalsteve72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 12:42 AM   #27
Member
 
Ravenworks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 598
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Rigid conduit installation help needed


Not to sound like a dick,but why didn't you saw cut the stucco.
Ravenworks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 07:33 AM   #28
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

Rigid conduit installation help needed


Quote:
Originally Posted by socalsteve72 View Post
SCE says 15" max distance between supports for 1 1/2 rigid conduit. I've got 7 feet inside exposed wall going through double header and rafter beams
You HAVE to be reading this wrong. 15 INCHES between supports on 1-1/2" rigid? That's absurd.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 07:34 AM   #29
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

Rigid conduit installation help needed


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ravenworks View Post
Not to sound like a dick,but why didn't you saw cut the stucco.
IMO some people like the irregular patter on the edges when patched. It is less noticeable.
You can't saw cut perfectly for the box for obvious reasons.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 11:07 AM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Rigid conduit installation help needed


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ravenworks View Post
Not to sound like a dick,but why didn't you saw cut the stucco.
I did cut it nice and clean with a diamond blade, then chipped out with air hammer to expose chickenwire and tar paper to get my flasing in under the stucco and better finish like speedy petey said.

Advertisement

socalsteve72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to plug unwanted and leaking conduit? gernith General DIY Discussions 6 08-08-2010 01:09 PM
storm door - Installation help needed tooslo1 Remodeling 3 07-20-2010 06:34 AM
Wire size and type in Rigid Metal Conduit Al the Diy guy Electrical 5 02-05-2008 09:31 PM
Rigid Metal Straight Threads rjordan392 Electrical 2 06-24-2007 12:42 PM
Shower installation help needed neonrider General DIY Discussions 1 08-24-2005 06:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts