Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-15-2012, 09:27 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 44
Share |
Default

Rigid conduit installation help needed


Q1-
isn't rigid conduit supposed to bottom out in hub on new service panel? I thought so, installed mine and the threads look fine but only threaded in about 8 turns then stopped. Same on the other end.
Q2-
i'm trying to figure out how to brace my service entrance rigid conduit in my garage wall to my service panel. the conduit is 1 1/2 inch and the studs are 3 1/2 (2x4) so there's no room for cross bracing behind the rmc.i was gonna brace then strap but no room(stucco exterior) any ideas??
Pics are attached any help is greatly appreciated-
Steve
Attached Thumbnails
Rigid conduit installation help needed-conduit.jpg   Rigid conduit installation help needed-conduit-2.jpg  

socalsteve72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 09:39 PM   #2
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Default

Rigid conduit installation help needed


Use straps

__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 10:03 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 44
Default

Rigid conduit installation help needed


what should i strap to?....
i previously explained the problem, maybe i'm missing something
socalsteve72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 10:05 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,058
Default

Rigid conduit installation help needed


A1....Tapered pipe thread. It only threads in so far and becomes tight when there is no more clearance between the threads.
zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to zappa For This Useful Post:
plummen (03-16-2012)
Old 03-15-2012, 10:14 PM   #5
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Default

Rigid conduit installation help needed


Quote:
Originally Posted by socalsteve72
what should i strap to?....
i previously explained the problem, maybe i'm missing something
Concrete or cinderblock what ever it is.
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 10:15 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 44
Default

Rigid conduit installation help needed


I wasn't sure if it was tapered like std pipe thread, or supposed to be straight thread as i read about online.
Any ideas on strapping product(s)/ ideas on conduit supports ??
socalsteve72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 10:18 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 44
Default

Rigid conduit installation help needed


Quote:
Originally Posted by Julius793 View Post
Concrete or cinderblock what ever it is.
It's stuuco on stud construction. no plywood, ony the framing to strap to.....see pics
socalsteve72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 10:19 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,058
Default

Rigid conduit installation help needed


Is it a code requirement to support closer to the panel than your double plate? It looks pretty secure to me. How about wooden blocking, maybe a 2x and a 1x to the closest stud and a half clamp or that thin metal strapping with the holes in it?
zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 10:27 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 44
Default

Rigid conduit installation help needed


Quote:
Originally Posted by zappa View Post
Is it a code requirement to support closer to the panel than your double plate? It looks pretty secure to me. How about wooden blocking, maybe a 2x and a 1x to the closest stud and a half clamp or that thin metal strapping with the holes in it?
Code here requires bracing every 15 inches, i agree it's secure definitely no going anywhere but don't want to get called on it
socalsteve72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 10:30 PM   #10
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Default

Rigid conduit installation help needed


Quote:
Originally Posted by socalsteve72
It's stuuco on stud construction. no plywood, ony the framing to strap to.....see pics
We aren't understanding each other, take a 2 hole strap, drill out the stuco/concrete and use anchors. Why do you think you can only strap to wood?
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 11:01 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 440
Default

Rigid conduit installation help needed


more than likley gaulled threads.you should pre fit hub to conduit.don't know if it is wrong but when i pre fit hub to conduit put a little no-alox on threads.no more trbl.
oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 11:10 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 44
Default

Rigid conduit installation help needed


Quote:
Originally Posted by oleguy74 View Post
more than likley gaulled threads.you should pre fit hub to conduit.don't know if it is wrong but when i pre fit hub to conduit put a little no-alox on threads.no more trbl.
So you're saying it should bottom out in the hub?
socalsteve72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 05:23 AM   #13
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,864
Default

Rigid conduit installation help needed


Quote:
Originally Posted by socalsteve72 View Post
So you're saying it should bottom out in the hub?
No, it will NOT bottom out. Just to be nosy, where is your meter?
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 06:10 AM   #14
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Default

Rigid conduit installation help needed


Quote:
Originally Posted by oleguy74 View Post
more than likley gaulled threads.
I highly doubt it. It looks fine.



Quote:
Originally Posted by socalsteve72 View Post
Code here requires bracing every 15 inches,
This is NOT correct.
IMO it is FINE the way it is.

I also ask where the meter is?
And why only 1-1/2"? Most places 2" is the minimum mast size. Is the service/feeder drop supported by the mast?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
plummen (03-16-2012)
Old 03-16-2012, 07:25 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 44
Default

Rigid conduit installation help needed


Mast is for meter/service panel combo, min code here is 1 1/2' rigid for 200a panel i'm using 2/0 service wire

socalsteve72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to plug unwanted and leaking conduit? gernith General DIY Discussions 6 08-08-2010 12:09 PM
storm door - Installation help needed tooslo1 Remodeling 3 07-20-2010 05:34 AM
Wire size and type in Rigid Metal Conduit Al the Diy guy Electrical 5 02-05-2008 08:31 PM
Rigid Metal Straight Threads rjordan392 Electrical 2 06-24-2007 11:42 AM
Shower installation help needed neonrider General DIY Discussions 1 08-24-2005 05:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.