Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-31-2010, 09:44 PM   #1

Share |

Right-Angle drill?

Hi;
I think I am going to be doing some major rewiring in my 85yr old home within the next year.
I may end up getting an electrician, but currently there is no way I can afford one.

I don't have any trouble with doing the wiring myself; I have lots of experience, but haven't done all that much pulling of new cable through old walls and ceilings.

So, I'm wondering whether owning a right-angle drill would make the job easier. I would like to avoid having to cut large openings in ceilings and walls. These are old plaster & lathe, not sheetrock.

I think a decent RA drill would cost me around $300, but if it would make the patching job a lot easier, then I would consider it a good investment. I am sure I would be using that drill many times again.

What do you think?

Thanks

FW

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 09:58 PM   #2

Right-Angle drill?

milwaukee makes a nice right angle drill that can be converted to a regular drill by simply removing a coupler .... it also acts a a doubler higher or lower speed. you can get those for aboiut 270 new or used in a pawn shop. they are easy to replace brishes to .... that drill also works very well for mixing cause it can be cut down to 250 rpm with the doubler attached...

oldrivers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 10:02 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor

Right-Angle drill?

The box store also carry a RA drill attachment that converts a regular drill to RA.
I carry one of those instead of a RA drill.
Old 08-31-2010, 10:05 PM   #4

Right-Angle drill?

I tried one of the RA attachments from HD
It lasted for a few holes & then died/almost fell apart
Plastic in the fitting somewhere did not last long
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 10:32 PM   #5
fabrk8r

Right-Angle drill?