Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-22-2007, 06:41 PM   #1
Low Voltage Fun
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

RG6, Romex Question


I have a ground floor apartment and I'd like to add an additional F-Connector term on the opposite wall (where one does not currently exist) of the TV room.

A few questions:

1. The RG6 feeds come in via the crawlspace from the main property DC multi-switch to each room in the apartment. Can I add a splitter to my existing feed to the TV room and split it off to the other side of the room/wall?? I know I will not end up with two independent DirecTV F-connector terms, but at least I have the option of what side of the room to put one TV.

2. On the wall that I'm adding the F-Connector gangebox there is an existing electrical outlet near to where I'll term the connector/box. I'm lucky to have a large crawlspace to work in and I can see phone, DSS and yellow Romex runs clearly, BUT I'm not exactly sure which Romex run goes to what room, wall, etc. (or which RG6 goes where for that matter). Is there a way to trace the Romex line? Once traced can I push a RG6 up through the existing 3/4" hole in the floor joist that the Romex goes up through? I'd rather not have to drill a new hole if I don't have to....

I have more questions, but I'll leave it at that for now.


Last edited by winesmile; 08-22-2007 at 06:52 PM.
winesmile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2007, 07:13 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

RG6, Romex Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by winesmile View Post
I have a ground floor apartment and I'd like to add an additional F-Connector term on the opposite wall (where one does not currently exist) of the TV room.

A few questions:

1. The RG6 feeds come in via the crawlspace from the main property DC multi-switch to each room in the apartment. Can I add a splitter to my existing feed to the TV room and split it off to the other side of the room/wall?? I know I will not end up with two independent DirecTV F-connector terms, but at least I have the option of what side of the room to put one TV.

2. On the wall that I'm adding the F-Connector gangebox there is an existing electrical outlet near to where I'll term the connector/box. I'm lucky to have a large crawlspace to work in and I can see phone, DSS and yellow Romex runs clearly, BUT I'm not exactly sure which Romex run goes to what room, wall, etc. (or which RG6 goes where for that matter). Is there a way to trace the Romex line? Once traced can I push a RG6 up through the existing 3/4" hole in the floor joist that the Romex goes up through? I'd rather not have to drill a new hole if I don't have to....

I have more questions, but I'll leave it at that for now.
Is there no other outlet on the same wall? Low voltage and line voltage must use seperate raceways. Also contact you property manager to see if this is approverd otherwise if you screw up its your dollar. Otherwise use wiremold if possible.

wooderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2007, 07:20 PM   #3
Low Voltage Fun
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

RG6, Romex Question


I figured they needed seporate raceways - thanks for the conformation.
Got the approval.
winesmile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2007, 07:46 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,842
Rewards Points: 2,478
Blog Entries: 4
Default

RG6, Romex Question


I don't think a regular cable splitter will work with a satellite signal. They don't pass the voltages required to run the LNB. They definitely won't work to run two sat boxes. Possible it might work for your purpose. I would do a test with some short cables before you run your permanent cables in the walls.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2007, 07:53 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

RG6, Romex Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
I don't think a regular cable splitter will work with a satellite signal. They don't pass the voltages required to run the LNB. They definitely won't work to run two sat boxes. Possible it might work for your purpose. I would do a test with some short cables before you run your permanent cables in the walls.
It will work its just that you will have to watch whatever is on the other tv that is why today we run all seperate homeruns in new construction.
wooderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2007, 10:24 PM   #6
Low Voltage Fun
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

RG6, Romex Question


So to be clear as I suspect if I were to split the main feed into two you would be only able to watch one program and not two independent programs (unless you run back from the multi-switch).

Can you recommend a type of splitter to test it??
winesmile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2007, 07:02 PM   #7
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,842
Rewards Points: 2,478
Blog Entries: 4
Default

RG6, Romex Question


To be clear a cable splitter will work fine on the output from the satellite receiver box. Both TVs will be watching the same channel.
A cable splitter will not work to split the signal from the dish to the receiver. It definitely will not work for two receivers at the same time. I have not tried it for one receiver moved between two different locations. I can not confirm whether it will work in that case.

joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM
Running Romex in the attic mdalli Electrical 7 07-06-2006 05:35 PM
Pulling romex thru wall with old romex? Doug Crf Electrical 4 04-11-2006 09:33 AM
Romex to BX fifaboy Electrical 1 02-27-2005 04:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.