Rewiring A Whole House - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2008, 07:28 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Rewiring a whole house


wife, hot? Yes, but I don't want to start another 50 page post, so I'll leave her out of this. I'm sure bonk won't mind.....

Advertisement

steve1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2008, 08:41 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 126
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Rewiring a whole house


steve1234... You're right, I don't mind... I'm wishin' a hot wife for every good guy out there...

Bonk
honker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2008, 08:48 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Rewiring a whole house


Thanks for the wish.....I got mine!!!
steve1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2008, 08:59 PM   #19
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,423
Rewards Points: 2,508
Default

Rewiring a whole house


For me, it cost $600 for a new box & meterhead (paid by the prev. owner before we moved in), and around $250 for extra breakers, wire, recepticles, switches, and plates. I still have to finish re-wiring the garage, and finish one room, and the lighting. Only reason I updated, was due to having to break the circuits down to more current standards, instead of coming off of 4 circuits.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 12:27 PM   #20
www.handyguyspodcast.com
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Rewiring a whole house


I had almost the exact same situation, but in southeaster PA and the house was closer to 1800 sq/ft but and I only needed second floor done (I miss that old Knob and Tube) I thought of doing the work myself but just did not have time at that period in my life. I called three electricians... beginning with the company with the big yellow page ad down to the one man shop a friend recommended. I got quotes from 15K down to about 4K. I chose the one man show. He was great and I saved lots of money. Make sure you get three quotes!

Also, a lot of the cost is dependent on accessibility. My electrician ran conduit on outside of house from basement to attic. Once there, all bedrooms/baths were fairly easy to access.

Paul


Quote:
Originally Posted by greengiant View Post
Two questions for the pros:

(1) Approximately how much should it cost to rewire a 1,000 sq ft 1940's lathe and plaster house from 30amp knob and tube to 200amp breaker?

(2) How much is it likely to cost if the work is done in the SF Bay Area?

We bought a house thinking we could have a panel installed and leave the existing K&T except for rewiring the kitchen and bath. Those lovely people at city hall have decided they will not issue a permit unless all of the K&T is replaced throughout the entire house and detached garage, and the entire place brought up to current code.

I'll post the answer to #2 once I have some more quotes.
borninpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 04:00 PM   #21
Newbie
 
greengiant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rewiring a whole house


The average of 3 quotes is $16,600, all within about $600 of each other.
That's includes everything except patching the lathe and plaster at $40/hole

So the winner of the totally blind guessing contest is Steve1234 with post #12
greengiant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 04:17 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Rewiring a whole house


woo-hoo...what do I win?? Nothing, I'm sure....that answer was too easy!

BTW you have to love the bay area prices. I see the estimates and rates tossed around on this board and can only dream. (I work in sunnyvale and live is LG)
steve1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 06:44 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Rewiring a whole house


I had a question for those who have done this themselves -

I have a 1200sqft single story bungalow built in 1926 Pasadena, CA. The electrical is an interesting blend of 80+ years of electrical upgrades but my primary concern is the knob and tube wiring that runs all the overhead lights and a few outlets.

I have an attic, but poor access, and blown-in insulation caused some electricians to quote me over $10k to replace the wiring.

I am pretty comfortable with this stuff, very handy and a quick learner - is this something I could realistically do myself? My plan is to have an electrician upgrade our service from 100A to 200A, then wire one room at a time and bring the house to code.

Am I crazy for thinking of doing this myself? Any tips for pitfalls I should be aware of?

Thanks for the input.
Crashless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 07:25 PM   #24
Sparrky
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northern California
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Rewiring a whole house


I am over in the Modesto area . . .I would like to suggest a couple of things . .if you havent signed on the dotted line yet

A...there is a fellow on here I believe that specializes in older homes . .
may want to get a price from him
B . .in ANY bid . .to re-wire the home get some damn clear specifics
as to what materials will be used . . .panel . . .engineering plan as
part of job . . .( we are totaly replacing an entire wiring harness)
. . .time lines . . .CLEAR CLEAR SCOPE OF WORK A TO Z
C . . .remember that you arent re-wiring . .you are re-wiring / re-lathing
re-platering / textiring / re-painting

THE CONTRACTOR WILL BE DRILLING HOLES IN VIRTUALLY EVERY
WALL . . .CEILING . . .FLOOR ETC to gain access
D . .REFERENCES REFERECES REFERENCES . . .if you get the slightest
hesitation from any Electrical Contractor . .regardless of price . .for
goodness sakes . . DITCH THAT BID
E . . TIME LINE FOR START / COMPLETION AND SOLID SCHEDULE . .there
is nothing more uncomforatble than re-modeling a home you are living
. .it is quite the nuisance
F . . ..realize you may be without power for varying periods for varying
lengths of time
G . .reading and signing the Contractors contract . .swell . . .but make
sure you have had prepared an A to Z inclusive contract . .must
include verbage to eliminate ALL . ." OH shucks I forgot that" . .
add-ons by virtue
of not mentioned etc . . . .draws tied to inspections . .change
orders instigated by you alone . .and again specifics included

doesnt want to sign your contract? . .drop'em like the palgue
after writing contracts for 6 business Parks . .these are the basics
that will serve . .both of you well




wish I could do your project . .but that wouldnt serve you best . .be pleased to help in any way I can from here . .
won4thewoad@yahoo.com
Kingsmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 07:40 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Rewiring a whole house


keep in mind this is coming from someone that does just about everything himself. Are you crazy? I don't think so, as long as you have a realistic expectation of what you're getting into. It's a lot of work, and PITA work at that. There's a reason why the quotes are what they are. When I do something, I think it through and figure out the steps where I will need help / info. I don't start until I'm pretty confident I have a defined path to completion.....understaning, of course, you can't forsee everything.

I'm rebuilding my house and I also have another day job. Since we are living in the house also, scheduling things takes on another dimension. I have to make sure I have ample time to finish if I plan to take down the power or water in the house. It doesn't go over well if I take the house off the grid and then announce, "c-ya, I'm going to work". That's just one pitfall I run into.

I also think having a helper is essential when pulling wires in an existing house. Somebody on each end of the pull.

I would also assess your ability to patch a wall. I have ended many a cable / fire block standoff with a utility knife to the wall.

I think it comes down to you knowing your abilities. The DIY'ers that get in beyond their ability are the ones that create the stereotype of the hack DIY, and create a mess for themselves. I'm often amazed at some of the questions on this board regarding electrical. Often times I think to myself, "boy, I don't think I would have started that little project if I didn't know what a switch leg was (or whatever)". I applaud the effort, but I error on the side of "look before you leap". I would also suggest you that you know your way around the applicable version of the residential NEC.

All that said, if you feel comfortable....go for it. It doesn't hurt to identify somebody to call in a pinch if something goes south.
steve1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 08:30 PM   #26
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Rewiring a whole house


Quote:
Originally Posted by greengiant View Post
The average of 3 quotes is $16,600, all within about $600 of each other.
That's includes everything except patching the lathe and plaster at $40/hole

So the winner of the totally blind guessing contest is Steve1234 with post #12
Thanks for posting your bids. I bid one this winter almost exactly like you describe. K&T 60 amp to a 200 amp with complete rewire. Minimal damage to lathe and plaster requested. Full basement and 1 1/2 story. I bid 10,300. Winning bid was 7,600. Patching was not included. Occupied during the work.

Advertisement

jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cape Cod Style House Attic/Crawl Space Insulation Help Danielg Insulation 24 05-21-2012 09:20 AM
replumbing an old house simonfrog Plumbing 7 01-30-2012 05:45 AM
200 Amp service really needed for a 830 sq ft house? overkill? alexz Electrical 7 11-16-2009 06:54 PM
Complete AC installation in Old Capitol Hill Row House jacko10 HVAC 0 09-18-2007 06:42 PM
Rewiring half a house? wease Electrical 9 05-19-2007 03:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts