Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-10-2010, 12:33 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 26
Share |
Default

Rewiring and splitting circuits per room


There are two bedrooms above the living room. All with rigid conduit running down four walls from the attic, and each bedroom has four lines of conduit.

The four from the living room are shared with the bearing/exterior walls. Of these four, they also share the conduit from the above mentioned bedrooms.

I've been debating to use one dedicated circuit for the two bedrooms and another dedicated circuit for the living room. This scenario is quite time consuming and would require much more pulling and materials.

The other scenario is to have each bedroom on their own circuit and run the live lines down to the outlets in the living room. This would be easiest and fast. However, on the panel I would have detailed notes of which outlets are on that circuit. Is there anything about the CA or NEC codes which would prohibit this?

Obviously I've done the load calculations and balanced it. However, I would like to know if the NEC would prohibit the latter of the two.

npbsurfr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 09:23 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,867
Default

Rewiring and splitting circuits per room


If the conduits were run so that bedroom and living room outlets dirctly above one another were on the same circuit, no problem keeping it that way.

But if an arc fault interrupter is needed for the bedroom (as is the case in the US) it would also have to affect the living room receptacle.

Recently I did a job where the receptacles on both sides of a wall (two adjoining rooms) were on the same circuit.

__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 10:48 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 26
Default

Rewiring and splitting circuits per room


I'm going to spend the extra money on any room that I installed Romex in and use a Arc Fault anyhow. It's an extremely old house, so I'd rather be safe than sorry. Besides, it would only be $180-220 more for the arc faults. Well worth the extra security.
npbsurfr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rewiring with a "Star" configuration tigereye Electrical 15 08-17-2009 07:22 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.