Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-11-2008, 09:08 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Exclamation

Rewiring Original 1952 house.


Hey guys, My name is Cody and you may be hearing from me a lot on here as I just bought my first house.

I bought a repo that was built in 1952. My inspector informed me of how dangerous the original "Federal Pacific" breaker box is.

A little background on the house: In the early 90's a 1000ft2 addition was built on. They, then ran a new 100 amp service and used the original panel as a subpanel (60 amp), The entire old part of the house is wired without ground. Oh yeah, and the whole house is crawlspace.

So here's the plan: I plan on drilling down through the base in two different angles under each outlet and running new 14/2 w/ground wire to a junction box for each room. Then running a 12/2 w/ground wire from that junction box back up to a new panel. So I'll tie the circuits for outlets in each room to their own junction box, except for two extremely small rooms may share a junction box. Next, I'll repeat the same procedure this time in the attic for the lighting fixtures ( I plan on going back with some recessesed soft lighting).

So all new circuits, outlets, switches, and box, all grounded, for everything. I close this Friday (14th), so I will probably open up this project throughout next week. All I'm looking for is tips, tricks, and hacks for this huge project. I have done some electrical work in the past (installed A/C condensors for about 4 months). And, I went and bought Black and Decker's advanced home wiring book @ my local lowes, read it all.

Any and all advice will be greatly appreciated.

-Cody C.

TripleC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 09:55 AM   #2
Mold!! Let's kill it!
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,843
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Rewiring Original 1952 house.


Forget running 14/2 in your recep circuits. Stay with 12/2 for the whole thing so you can fuse at 20 amps. 14/2 is OK for 15 amp lighting circuit. What's the plan for the F/P stab-loc? I had a100 amp F/P sub in my garage that smoked, so I guess there's some truth in the stories I've heard about them being a problem.


Last edited by Maintenance 6; 03-11-2008 at 09:58 AM.
Maintenance 6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 10:11 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Rewiring Original 1952 house.


As for the f/p stab lock. I figure I'll just replace with a new bb. It's a 60 amp box, I'll probably go back with a 60 amp as the new ones have more space for breakers. The hard part is going to be figuring how many outlets I can load on one circuit to stay safe and not overload that box, but with only 60 amps to work with, I may have to get stingey once i figure out what all is going to be needed as far as hardwired appliances go.
TripleC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cape Cod Style House Attic/Crawl Space Insulation Help Danielg Insulation 24 05-21-2012 08:20 AM
Connecting main house to guest house... hlavine Building & Construction 31 03-28-2012 09:04 AM
Rewiring a whole house greengiant Electrical 25 02-20-2008 07:30 PM
Complete AC installation in Old Capitol Hill Row House jacko10 HVAC 0 09-18-2007 05:42 PM
Rewiring half a house? wease Electrical 9 05-19-2007 02:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.