Rewiring Lamp Post In Front Yard. - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-17-2009, 05:52 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 155
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Rewiring Lamp post in front yard.


The lamp post in my front yard is probably from when the house was built. Sooooooooo that being said the light would come on and off when the switch was on ...if you go out and shake the light fixture it would go on and off, quite possibly a loose wire. Anything I should know prior to going into this job? How many wires are in this? Is it just loosen the screwson the post and the top comes off and check for loose wires. Your thoughts?

Advertisement

68MHJCs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 05:57 PM   #2
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post

Rewiring Lamp post in front yard.


MAKE SURE POWER IS OFF AND TAKE THE LIGHT OFF the POST THERE SOULD BE 3 WIRES IN THERE BLACK,WHITE,GREEN (BARE) Check your wire conections and if thats not the poroblem its prob the socket But sounds like loose wire

Advertisement

300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 06:08 PM   #3
Residential Contractor
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 134
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Rewiring Lamp post in front yard.


Most often in this situation I have found that the bulb holder (socket) has corroded and needs to be replaced. (Ditto 300zx-POWER OFF and test before doing this) If in doubt, kill the main. If you have to use wire nuts to do the replacement, "think like water". Train the wires so the wire nuts are pointed up (like an umbrella) so any water that does end up in the fixture can drain.
rselectric1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 08:40 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 155
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Rewiring Lamp post in front yard.


I wasnt able to get into it today...do to rain and maybe not tomorrow also but asap and any other info let me know. thanks again.
68MHJCs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 01:00 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rewiring Lamp post in front yard.


Looking to do same thing. Any tips on dealing with the bottom portion of the post in particular getting the old wire out and new db wire in. base looks like its concrete with the metal post mounted.

Thanx
Project423 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 01:06 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,798
Rewards Points: 712
Default

Rewiring Lamp post in front yard.


423 you need to go back and add your own post not add onto someone elses.
Why are you replacing the wire?
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 06:01 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,415
Rewards Points: 828
Default

Rewiring Lamp post in front yard.


Buy a new lamp fixture.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 10:41 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rewiring Lamp post in front yard.


sorry didnt realize this was an old post from years ago. figured the post starter could use the info also that i was inquiring about. At joe... replacing because previous owner laid (only one inch deep, if that) regular interior romex through the front lawn. its been frayed down to the copper, i assume because of years using a lawn edger. Once i noticed it i made that wire dead right away and its been like that since. would like to get the lamp up and running again, the right way!. At Bob... post looks ok. not new of course but still ok.
Project423 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 02:17 PM   #9
Member
 
seansy59's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NJ, US
Posts: 292
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Rewiring Lamp post in front yard.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Project423 View Post
sorry didnt realize this was an old post from years ago. figured the post starter could use the info also that i was inquiring about. At joe... replacing because previous owner laid (only one inch deep, if that) regular interior romex through the front lawn. its been frayed down to the copper, i assume because of years using a lawn edger. Once i noticed it i made that wire dead right away and its been like that since. would like to get the lamp up and running again, the right way!. At Bob... post looks ok. not new of course but still ok.
If you are asking on how to get it working again.

- 1/2" conduit (buried min. 12" deep if GFCI protected at house and min. 18" deep if non GFCI protected)

- 14ga wire if 15a, 12ga wire if 20a. If not sure, use 12 ga. THWN wire black (hot), green (ground) and white (neutral)

- Make sure it is grounded especially if any part of the post is metal
seansy59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 03:36 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rewiring Lamp post in front yard.


Great info sean thanks! any insight on how the wire actually makes up and into these lamp posts. Without digging yet its revealing what looks like a cement base. Is the base posssibly hollow???? First time ever owning one of these things. Thanks again.
Project423 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 03:54 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Pa.
Posts: 123
Rewards Points: 79
Default

Rewiring Lamp post in front yard.


you may have a piece of pvc conduit entering thru the base. that would make replacing the wires easier.

Advertisement

pokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Post mounted electrical receptacle NIlRO Electrical 13 04-19-2010 03:20 PM
Electric receptacle in lamp post and flood light not working th31 Electrical 7 12-13-2007 08:46 AM
Perplexing electrical problem prglor Electrical 4 05-30-2007 03:20 PM
need to control remote lamp post timalabim Electrical 3 05-01-2006 11:40 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts