Rewiring For HVAC Compressor - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-24-2012, 05:08 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tucson,AZ
Posts: 145
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Rewiring for HVAC compressor


My hvac compressor sits on my roof. I am having the roof replaced. I want to reroute the power to it-220V 60A circuit- through an interior ceiling chase. The existing wiring is in a conduit run surface on the roof over to the service panel on an exterior wall. It is 2 #6 wires and ground. Can I run 6/2 romex through the ceiling chase to replace it?

Advertisement

elmaur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 05:14 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Rewiring for HVAC compressor


It will have to be in conduit and wet rated wire. Maybe conduit through the roof to an AC disconnect.

Advertisement

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 05:27 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tucson,AZ
Posts: 145
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Rewiring for HVAC compressor


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
It will have to be in conduit and wet rated wire. Maybe conduit through the roof to an AC disconnect.
The entire run will be indoor except where it exits an interior wall to go into the service panel- that is not my concern for now- and then about a 50' run to the point it will go through the roof in conduit to an AC disconnect- which is my immediate concern. It will be about one foot where it exits the roof to the AC disconnect. Does it have to be wet rated?
elmaur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 08:06 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,037
Rewards Points: 2,872
Default

Rewiring for HVAC compressor


Any wiring outside, even in conduit needs to be wet rated.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 11:21 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tucson,AZ
Posts: 145
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Rewiring for HVAC compressor


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Any wiring outside, even in conduit needs to be wet rated.
So for such a short distance- about 1 ft.- it has to be wet rated? I suppose I could put an exposed junction box just below the location of the AC disconnect which would be the garage ceiling and run a short piece of UF rated 6/2?
By this reasoning why wouldn't service panels installed outdoors require all UF cable runs to it?
elmaur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 11:47 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tucson,AZ
Posts: 145
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Rewiring for HVAC compressor


Maybe I need to get clear on what is meant by wet rated. Correct me if I am wrong. I think wet rated cable is not the same as UF rated cable. It seems all THHN is dual rated THWN which is a wet rated THHN. So if all romex is THHN/THWN rated then I am good to go with standard 6/2 romex.
elmaur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 12:11 AM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Rewiring for HVAC compressor


Quote:
Originally Posted by elmaur View Post
Maybe I need to get clear on what is meant by wet rated. Correct me if I am wrong. I think wet rated cable is not the same as UF rated cable. It seems all THHN is dual rated THWN which is a wet rated THHN. So if all romex is THHN/THWN rated then I am good to go with standard 6/2 romex.
I wrote a underline there and the romex is NOT listed for wet loctation at all even they have THHN/THWN conductors in there the key issue is if you do not see any marking on indivual conductor then they are only rated for dry location.

I rather just do this right by run full length in conduit otherwise you can run NM inside part until you get near the location where it will change to wet location so you will have to use the junction box for wet location conductors and THHN/THWN is rated for both dry and wet location but only inside the conduit.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 01:38 AM   #8
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,572
Rewards Points: 2,040
Default

Rewiring for HVAC compressor


Quote:
Originally Posted by elmaur View Post
Maybe I need to get clear on what is meant by wet rated. Correct me if I am wrong. I think wet rated cable is not the same as UF rated cable. It seems all THHN is dual rated THWN which is a wet rated THHN. So if all romex is THHN/THWN rated then I am good to go with standard 6/2 romex.
UF is wet rated (it's direct burial cable), but NM (romex) is not. The conductors in romex are not THHN/THWN. At least they aren't marked as such.

Advertisement

mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I really need a new compressor, or am I about to be ripped off? mrgadfly HVAC 8 07-02-2011 06:01 PM
Help assembling compressor jfhspike Tools 5 03-27-2011 11:07 AM
Air compressor and framing nailer for DIY ADKstorm Tools 20 11-11-2010 08:38 AM
Please help: blown fuse, slow compressor fan, and hissing noise from compressor frazwr01 HVAC 10 06-27-2010 10:08 PM
New Compressor - Wrong Charge? shayneb HVAC 4 08-23-2008 09:13 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts