Rewiring A Garage - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-16-2009, 11:11 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rewiring a garage


I'm wanting to rewire the way my garage is set up, but I need some advice.

Here's what I have right now:
All of the power for the garage goes from a 3-way switch inside the house attached to 3-wires that run from the house to the garage. These 3 wires are attached to a light and a 3-way switch in the garage.

The problem is, everything else in the garage is running from this light, so when the switch in the house is tripped, everything in the garage loses power except the light, which can still turn off and on with the other 3-way switch.

So my question is:
Is there a way I can use the existing 3 wires and have constant power to some devices, and have a single-pole switch inside the house for the light in the garage, or would I have to run one more wire? I'm wondering if I could run one hot wire, and two neutral wires, one which is going through the switch, and another that is constant.

I'm having trouble wrapping my head around it.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Advertisement

Vertigo50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 11:15 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Rewiring a garage


You only have 3 wires in total ? Colors...black white & copper ground ?
Attached or detached garage?

Advertisement

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 11:20 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rewiring a garage


Detached garage, which is why I'm trying to use the existing 3 wires, without having to run another wire outdoors.

I'm not sure on colors, but they're hot, neutral, and traveller right now.
Vertigo50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 11:42 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Rewiring a garage


No ground wire tho ?

Any upgrade/change would require you to meet todays codes
Min 4 wire run - 2 circuits could be set up on a multi-wire branch circuit
Is the wire buried in the ground or in conduit ?
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 11:49 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rewiring a garage


Actually, neither. They are running from under the rain gutters to the garage overhead.
Vertigo50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 08:05 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Rewiring a garage


Do you have a pic of the wire?
There are very specific wires to use for outside
Do you know how old the wire is?
Any signs of wire insulation being damaged by sun exposure?

Without a ground you really don't have a setup that meets code
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 10:26 AM   #7
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,545
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Rewiring a garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by Vertigo50 View Post
Detached garage, which is why I'm trying to use the existing 3 wires, without having to run another wire outdoors.

I'm not sure on colors, but they're hot, neutral, and traveller right now.
This is an improper and dangerous setup for 3way switching called the Carter System. You can use the existing wires to run power to the garage and be able to switch it on or off from the house, but to do 3way switching and have constant power, you will need 4 wires plus a ground.

Advertisement

__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raising up my garage jimmyfloyd Building & Construction 5 09-17-2009 11:39 PM
Garage Wiring issues jimmyfloyd Electrical 20 06-08-2009 03:57 PM
rewiring garage - adding sub panel wombosi Electrical 3 05-28-2009 11:08 PM
rewiring garage, questions about conduit pros and cons wombosi Electrical 32 05-08-2009 02:59 AM
Quickly rewiring my garage after feeder cut, messed up the planning, need help. thegonagle Electrical 10 10-23-2008 05:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts