Rewiring Bathroom - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-30-2010, 10:04 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: MO
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Rewiring bathroom


Bought a repo and am fixing up the bathroom right now. Currently the bathroom has two lights with outlets built into the lights. This then goes on to lights in the next 3 rooms. Im wanting to leave the next 3 rooms on the current circiut and run a new one for the bathroom.

Just wanting to install two lights and 2 outlets. The two outlets will be above the sink and GFCI's. Ive never installed a GFCI what order do i need to run this. I could also leave the lights on the current circuit and run a new one for the outlets if that would be better.

Advertisement

eagertolearn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 10:12 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 87
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Rewiring bathroom


I see no reason to re-feed your lights, you can leave them as they are.

For your (2) new receptacles, you need to pull a new 12-2 cable from your panel to the bathroom and run it into the first box, then run a jumper over to the second box. When you are ready to wire it up, wire the feed from the panel to the line side of the GFCI in the first box, then wire the jumper to the load side of the GFCI (there is a sticker on the GFCI so this will be clear). Then wire a normal receptacle in the second box, the GFCI in the first box will protect it.

Advertisement

VersaBar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 10:14 PM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Rewiring bathroom


I don't know if VersaBar mention that the bathroom receptales circuit must be 20 amp I know he did mention conductor size.

So just give you a head up on that.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 08:31 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: MO
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Rewiring bathroom


After thinking about it i think leaving the lights on the current circuit is fine. Didnt realize that i could just use the first GFCI to protect the second one and be to code. Save a few $ there.
eagertolearn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 08:37 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Rewiring bathroom


Bathroom circuit can provide outlets for multiple bathrooms
Or lights & outlets in one bathroom
Once you start to rewire you must bring it up to code

So adding a bathroom circuit is the best way to go
The lights could then be left as is
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 09:30 AM   #6
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,545
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Rewiring bathroom


One additional item about the light fixtures with built in receptacles: if you leave them, you will need to either disconnect the receptacle portion or add GFCI protection to the lighting circuit. Best to just replace the fixtures.

Advertisement

__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bathroom DWV Layout Problems grymes56 Plumbing 8 05-15-2011 10:00 AM
Bathroom fan replacement reveals...a mess merlanvp Electrical 0 07-25-2010 09:00 PM
Rewiring A 1948 Bathroom nixplix Electrical 4 04-13-2010 03:26 PM
Basement bathroom wiring mess. Little help. trailblazer1229 Electrical 15 02-16-2010 10:29 AM
rewiring a basement bathroom - check my wiring please mslide Electrical 2 07-10-2008 07:06 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts