Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-02-2010, 03:35 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 62
Share |
Default

Rewiring AL to CU - need a plan!


Just had a new 200A service put in for me in our new house, and going to rewire all of my AL circuits. The current circuits have been jury-rigged by previous owners to incorporate remodeling, and a few 15A branches are downright scary in the amount load on them.

How do I go about creating a new circuit plan that is up to code? There is no way I am going to follow the current layout. Is that done by an electrician, or do I hire a residential engineer? All I want is the schematics, as I plan to be doing all of the work.

redline9k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 07:11 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,503
Default

Rewiring AL to CU - need a plan!


You may want to pickup a copy of "Wiring Simplified" and read it over to get some ideas to work from.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 07:25 PM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,986
Default

Rewiring AL to CU - need a plan!


Quote:
Originally Posted by redline9k
Just had a new 200A service put in for me in our new house, and going to rewire all of my AL circuits. The current circuits have been jury-rigged by previous owners to incorporate remodeling, and a few 15A branches are downright scary in the amount load on them.

How do I go about creating a new circuit plan that is up to code? There is no way I am going to follow the current layout. Is that done by an electrician, or do I hire a residential engineer? All I want is the schematics, as I plan to be doing all of the work.
Map out the house and what circuits are in each area. When I redid the wiring for my kithcen and dining area, I used excel so that I could put what and what amp for each circuit. Keep in mind, that you will need gcfi's for wet areas, and acfi's everywhere else. Stub's links at the tip of this forum are good info. Also check with your local city for licensing requirements and pick up a copy of the latest NEC.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 08:14 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 62
Default

Rewiring AL to CU - need a plan!


thats sorta the point. I know just enough of the code to pass (bathroom circuits, bedroom AFCI, dual kitchen outlet circuits, etc), but I dont know all of the small details and helpful hints, like anticipating remodels, lighting vs outlets, etc. Who would I contact to basically "approve" or make recommendations to an electrical plan?
redline9k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 10:03 AM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,986
Default

Rewiring AL to CU - need a plan!


Quote:
Originally Posted by redline9k
thats sorta the point. I know just enough of the code to pass (bathroom circuits, bedroom AFCI, dual kitchen outlet circuits, etc), but I dont know all of the small details and helpful hints, like anticipating remodels, lighting vs outlets, etc. Who would I contact to basically "approve" or make recommendations to an electrical plan?
See above again.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 10:27 AM   #6
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Default

Rewiring AL to CU - need a plan!


I know this is not the NEC but it is very helpful guide for what you are looking to do.

http://www.nojolt.com/residential_el...ranch-Circuits

I would do a sketch drawing of your floor plan and then layout recepticles, lighting and switches, then follow the code as to how they are wired.

Hope that helps


Last edited by Jackofall1; 12-06-2010 at 07:12 PM.
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement Insulation Plan mcwolfe6 Building & Construction 9 03-01-2010 10:10 AM
Tiling stub surround -- my detailed plan 99miles Remodeling 1 08-17-2009 04:55 PM
Quickly rewiring my garage after feeder cut, messed up the planning, need help. thegonagle Electrical 10 10-23-2008 04:55 PM
Rewiring Original 1952 house. TripleC Electrical 2 03-11-2008 10:11 AM
Aluminum rewire plan ra_doliv Electrical 13 07-06-2007 05:37 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.