Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-29-2012, 01:53 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Mo
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Rewireing Old House


Hi I have2 houses to rewire the first one i livein it now has 3 Fuse boxes. Main box has 4 fuses other 2 has 2 each. So i am going to put in one breaker box. It has a half basement. I have wired several new houses. but i have some ??? on rewireing. I will have to drill the floorjoist how many wires can i run per hole? I have thought about this is it a good ideal to put junction boxes under the floors and go from their or how is it done? I am looking for a little headsup so when i am done i wont see a easy way that i could have done it.

Mo Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 02:09 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,995
Rewards Points: 3,106
Default

Rewireing Old House


How old are the houses?
Ballon wall constrution?

joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 02:09 PM   #3
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Rewireing Old House


Do you own this house?
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 06:32 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Mo
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Rewireing Old House


The house i live in I own the other is my dads and no one lives in it. I know what ballon frame is but i am not 100% but i dont think they are. His was built in the Knob and tube era.I dont know the age of my house it has regular wiring with no ground. They both have plaster and lathes.
Mo Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 06:51 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Rewireing Old House


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mo Guy View Post
I have thought about this is it a good ideal to put junction boxes under the floors and go from their or how is it done?
No, this is absolutely not how it's done. Just run from box to box. Drill the floor under the boxes and run the wire up to them.

I get the impression you have not done much wiring. What is your level of experience?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 07:53 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Mo
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Rewireing Old House


I have wired more than New 20 houses and several shops and Buildings. In my area you dont have to be licensed but it has to be inspected. I can not remember being around a house that was rewired.I have also worked on 3ph and built gen sets for quarrys. All my shop stuff is 3ph runing on a Phase converter that i built.
Mo Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 11:04 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

Rewireing Old House


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mo Guy View Post
I have wired more than New 20 houses and several shops and Buildings. In my area you dont have to be licensed but it has to be inspected. I can not remember being around a house that was rewired.I have also worked on 3ph and built gen sets for quarrys. All my shop stuff is 3ph runing on a Phase converter that i built.
Then you need no further help.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 07:43 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Mo
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Rewireing Old House


I have never rewired a old house and was just looking for some pointer.

Mo Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My house's previous owner - DIY horror stories Leah Frances General DIY Discussions 128 03-18-2014 06:41 AM
Cape Cod Style House Attic/Crawl Space Insulation Help Danielg Insulation 24 05-21-2012 08:20 AM
Attach ledger to vinyl sided house JamyTheBuilder Building & Construction 3 03-14-2012 02:54 PM
Mast and weatherhead pulled from house, conflicting information from POCO subcontract SleepnZJ Electrical 1 11-02-2011 09:39 PM
I have Central Heating & Air, but house won't cool down..HELP!! exiledone1 HVAC 13 07-10-2009 10:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.