Rewire A Switch That Controls An Outlet. - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-23-2012, 12:59 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Rewire a switch that controls an outlet.


Okay, I have a switch that controls a single recepticle of an outlet. Recently I had to do some work on the ceiling that gave me the chance to install a light in the ceiling. Ran the wire for the light down to the wall switch. The plan was to install a second switch, one to control the ceiling light the other to control the outlet. The power comes into the outlet, then up to the switch. Well, installed the second switch, and what happens now is, the outlet switch works fine, no problem. The ceiling light switch will work only if the outlet switch is on, and if I turn on the ceiling light switch the light will come on, cause a light plugged into the outlet to dim, and the ceiling light will go out. I wish I could draw a diagram of how I have it wired. But bascially my questions is this:

If the power comes from the outlet up to the switch. Is it even possible to install a second switch getting power from the outlet at the switch? I don't want to open the wall to get to the power in to the outlet. Or can I just wire the the light and the outlet to the same switch?

Advertisement

z00ropa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 01:34 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Rewire a switch that controls an outlet.


That depends on the number of wires from the receptacle to the switch.
If you have just a black and white wire, then you can have the overhead light, but not switch the receptacle.

What wires did you connect?

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 01:52 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,381
Rewards Points: 3,556
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Rewire a switch that controls an outlet.


Sounds like you have a switch loop. You have wired the new light in series with the receptacle. You can one or the other device switched but not both unless you change the cable between the receptacle and the switch box.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 03:13 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rewire a switch that controls an outlet.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
That depends on the number of wires from the receptacle to the switch.
If you have just a black and white wire, then you can have the overhead light, but not switch the receptacle.

What wires did you connect?

Yes just a white a black from the outlet up to the switch.
z00ropa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 03:28 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Rewire a switch that controls an outlet.


You are going to have to pull the receptacle from the wall and do some rewiring.
After the power is of, connet the white wire from the switch to the white wire at the receptacle.
Connect the black wire from the switch to the other black wires at the receptacle.
On the brass side of the receptacle, the tab may have been broken, and you will have to put a wire on each side.

At the switch, connect the white wire from the receptacle to the white wire going to the light.
Connect the black wire from the receptacle to one side of the switch, and connect the black wire from the light to the other side of the switch.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 03:48 PM   #6
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,241
Rewards Points: 2,392
Default

Rewire a switch that controls an outlet.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
You are going to have to pull the receptacle from the wall and do some rewiring.
After the power is of, connet the white wire from the switch to the white wire at the receptacle.
Connect the black wire from the switch to the other black wires at the receptacle.
On the brass side of the receptacle, the tab may have been broken, and you will have to put a wire on each side.

At the switch, connect the white wire from the receptacle to the white wire going to the light.
Connect the black wire from the receptacle to one side of the switch, and connect the black wire from the light to the other side of the switch.
This will not do what the poster wants. He wants 2 switches, 1 for the receptacle and 1 for the light. Since the power is at the receptacle, he needs a 3 wire cable from the receptacle to the switch (hot, neutral and switched hot for the receptacle.).

I would eliminate the switched receptacle and make it constant hot and use the 2 wire to the switch to carry hot and neutral.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 06:05 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Rewire a switch that controls an outlet.


RJ, I know, but he can not get what he wants.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 06:22 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rewire a switch that controls an outlet.


I don't mind loosing switch control of the outlet as long as I can have power to the ceiling light. Question: The tab on the outlet that is broken off, would I need to replace the outlet?
z00ropa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 07:00 PM   #9
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,241
Rewards Points: 2,392
Default

Rewire a switch that controls an outlet.


Quote:
Originally Posted by z00ropa View Post
I don't mind loosing switch control of the outlet as long as I can have power to the ceiling light. Question: The tab on the outlet that is broken off, would I need to replace the outlet?
You can use the receptacle. At the receptacle box , pigtail the whites and connect to the receptacle. Pigtail the blacks and connect to the receptacle but wrap the pigtail around both screws.
At the switch box, wire nut the whites together. Connect the 2 blacks to the switch.

Advertisement

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding an outlet from a switch skdiy Electrical 18 01-15-2012 05:12 AM
Wiring an outlet to a switch, to a light Athens Electrical 5 01-04-2012 08:03 PM
Odd voltages at outlet TJF Electrical 12 11-01-2011 10:13 PM
Trouble with GFCI Outlet + Switch for pool lights kentf Electrical 5 05-23-2011 12:37 PM
delete switch to control outlet receptacle constantinus Electrical 5 10-16-2010 12:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts