Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-08-2013, 12:30 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fountain Valley, CA 92708 (orange county)
Posts: 658
Share |
Default

Rewire part of house without tearing out walls?


I recall a contractor telling me he could rewire the kitchen from the main breaker box by 'pulling' the wires through the walls. From what I've seen this would be impossible, with wires running up and down and twisted together and drawn thru tiny holes in the studs. What do you guys think? Our attic also is too small to enter.

Thanks

darsunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 12:55 AM   #2
Banned Electrician
 
HARRY304E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: MA, Master Electrician
Posts: 203
Default

Rewire part of house without tearing out walls?


Quote:
Originally Posted by darsunt View Post
I recall a contractor telling me he could rewire the kitchen from the main breaker box by 'pulling' the wires through the walls. From what I've seen this would be impossible, with wires running up and down and twisted together and drawn thru tiny holes in the studs. What do you guys think? Our attic also is too small to enter.

Thanks

You must cut holes everywhere at least.

__________________
"Government is not the solution to our problem; Government is the problem."
HARRY304E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 06:00 AM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Default

Rewire part of house without tearing out walls?


Quote:
Originally Posted by darsunt View Post
I recall a contractor telling me he could rewire the kitchen from the main breaker box by 'pulling' the wires through the walls. From what I've seen this would be impossible, with wires running up and down and twisted together and drawn thru tiny holes in the studs. What do you guys think? Our attic also is too small to enter.

Thanks
hard to tell without seeing it ... you would be suprized what you can do ...
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Philly Master For This Useful Post:
plummen (12-10-2013)
Old 12-08-2013, 08:31 AM   #4
Member
 
deverson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 135
Default

Rewire part of house without tearing out walls?


Cut holes, run new circuits, patch holes, install a tile backsplash.
deverson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 11:03 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fountain Valley, CA 92708 (orange county)
Posts: 658
Default

Rewire part of house without tearing out walls?


The breaker box is on the outside wall behind the living room. The living room is between the breaker box and the kitchen.
I can imagine tying a wire to the end of the circuit wire coming out of the breaker box, and then pulling it all the way through to the kitchen. But I think there would be too much friction.
darsunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 11:04 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fountain Valley, CA 92708 (orange county)
Posts: 658
Default

Rewire part of house without tearing out walls?


Also could imagine running wire from breaker box through attic, and drop it down to the kitchen. However I believe our attic space is too small to crawl about in. Also that would be against most codes?
darsunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 11:14 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Default

Rewire part of house without tearing out walls?


Quote:
Originally Posted by darsunt View Post
Also could imagine running wire from breaker box through attic, and drop it down to the kitchen. However I believe our attic space is too small to crawl about in. Also that would be against most codes?
nah, there is nothing in the code explicitly prohibiting wiring through an attic.
itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 12:46 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 289
Default

Rewire part of house without tearing out walls?


An accessible attic is in fact a great way to run wire when retrofitting electrical.
JKeefe is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JKeefe For This Useful Post:
plummen (12-10-2013)
Old 12-09-2013, 07:27 PM   #9
Member
 
eastcoastsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Pennsauken, NJ
Posts: 183
Default

Rewire part of house without tearing out walls?


Get in that attic and be a man lol, but seriously as electricians im sure my fellow sparkys will back me up we go in many nasty super tight spaces that we dont wanna go in but if it means getting the job done then oo well we deal with the annoyingness for a couple hours. Alot of times attics are very very helpful when doing rewire retrofits
eastcoastsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 10:20 PM   #10
Member
 
Msradell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Louisville Kentucky
Posts: 1,117
Default

Rewire part of house without tearing out walls?


I always thought that tight attics or what apprentices were for!
Msradell is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Msradell For This Useful Post:
plummen (12-10-2013)
Old 12-10-2013, 08:48 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,202
Default

Rewire part of house without tearing out walls?


Maybe they could run conduit outside the house, and put a sub-panel in the kitchen? I have seen houses with conduit running outside, but it's mostly for central AC units that have to be located outside. Still, if it's either that or cutting lots of holes and fishing / pulling cable through walls, I would expect the external conduit to be less expensive.

FW

__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! WHAT is this weird "wire" running through the walls of my house??? leatherlips Electrical 7 09-22-2013 09:34 AM
Insulating Exterior Walls in an Old House jerseyguy1996 General DIY Discussions 2 10-13-2009 10:11 AM
Insulating walls of old house saturn78 Building & Construction 8 07-02-2009 12:04 PM
My house is a project...Part II "Deck Evolution" tigerbalm2424 Project Showcase 21 07-24-2008 10:37 AM
Need to Jack up part of my house.... harleysilo Remodeling 24 10-01-2006 08:05 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.