To Rewire Or Not?? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2013, 08:13 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Fire6Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

To rewire or not??


Hello, I could use a little help and input.

Here's my situation. I have a duplex built in 1922. It has some Knob and Tube wiring, some old cloth wiring and some new wiring. All receptacles, switches, lights are in perfect working order. I have a 100 amp breaker panel. Heating is natural gas boiler. Insurance company has insured me knowing my electrical system.

I plan on remodelling my kitchen, expanding it into another room. I called two licensed electricians to give me a quote.

First electrician said he will have to rewire my entire unit. Drill holes in my plaster and lathe walls, fish all new wires and bring everything to up code. $10,000+

Second electrician said to leave K&T and old wires alone. He said many houses still have perfectly working K&T wiring. If there are no flickering lights or tripping breakers then there is no problem. I have 7 unused slots in panel which is more than enough room for a dishwasher, fan, etc... He said to save my money and troubles with patching up plaster walls from fished wires.

I like the idea of having a safe, up to code, brand new electrical system in my home. But I also like the idea of saving the $10,000. If it aint broke don't fix it??? What do you guys think??
Thanks ahead of time

Advertisement

Fire6Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 08:16 PM   #2
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,762
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

To rewire or not??


Hire the second guy.

Advertisement

__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to electures For This Useful Post:
k_buz (02-14-2013), MCB (02-14-2013), NJMarine (02-15-2013), TarheelTerp (02-14-2013)
Old 02-14-2013, 09:28 PM   #3
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,673
Rewards Points: 2,648
Default

To rewire or not??


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
Hire the second guy.
Ditto.....
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 10:53 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

To rewire or not??


K&T wiring that has soldered joints and which is taut enough so conductors don't sag and touch is actually extremely robust. It would have no more problems with loose connections than new wiring where the most connection problems happen inside outlet boxes and where fortunately you can open up the box and fix the problems.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 11:39 PM   #5
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Rewards Points: 500
Default

To rewire or not??


I personally agree with the above posters. If you're not having problems, there's no need to upgrade.
However, DO keep in mind that K&T is not supposed to have insulation covering it, it needs the air space for heat dissipation.
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 08:25 AM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,054
Rewards Points: 2,906
Default

To rewire or not??


One issue is if you want to insulate and the K&T is in the way, you cannot insulate around it.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
NJMarine (02-15-2013)
Old 02-18-2013, 08:48 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Fire6Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

To rewire or not??


Thanks for the quick reply. The official quote from the first company was just over $12,000. So I decided to go with the second option, keep the original wiring and bring in new circuits when I remodel the kitchen.
Thanks again

Advertisement

Fire6Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old House Rewire Primer LTParis Electrical 8 05-03-2012 01:02 AM
Old House Rewire finnimus Electrical 15 05-13-2011 11:39 PM
Am I going to have to rewire my house? dukes909 Electrical 14 09-14-2010 06:11 PM
old lamp post rewire tiso2010 Electrical 1 08-08-2010 06:59 PM
Upgrade or rewire Lexiesmom Electrical 4 06-30-2010 09:21 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts