Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-07-2010, 04:00 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

rewire and new service entrance wire


have a utility pole approximately 25ft from the house, with a utility service meter and electric box below the meter. The service entrance wire is 100amp and enters the house at a connection at the attic floor level and then runs 12ft through the attic and 5ft down the wall to a new 100amp service panel.

I want to replace the service entrance wires that run through the house with copper. What size wire would that be? and does it need to run through conduit?, plastic or metal?

Would the service panel in the house be a secondary panel and therefore not be connected to a grounding bar? There is a grounding wire on the outside of the house (where it enters the house) which is connected to the service entrance ground wire and down to a grounding bar next to the foundation.

dghowery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 05:19 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,136
Default

rewire and new service entrance wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by dghowery View Post
I want to replace the service entrance wires that run through the house with copper. What size wire would that be? and does it need to run through conduit?, plastic or metal?
Are your current wires aluminum, if so why are you wanting to change them?

darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 07:33 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
Default

rewire and new service entrance wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by darren View Post
Are your current wires aluminum, if so why are you wanting to change them?
They are aluminum with a white cloth binding around them. It would be easier to leave them in place - thought a copper #2 would be an upgrade or safer?
dghowery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 08:16 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,136
Default

rewire and new service entrance wire


Its probably safe as it is, aluminum wire is not a bad thing. It all depends on how it is terminated.

If it is the wrong type of wire then you may be better to change it out, take a picture if you can and we will be able to tell you if it is safe to leave.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 08:31 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
Default

rewire and new service entrance wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by darren View Post
Its probably safe as it is, aluminum wire is not a bad thing. It all depends on how it is terminated.

If it is the wrong type of wire then you may be better to change it out, take a picture if you can and we will be able to tell you if it is safe to leave.
replaced the service entrance wire into the house, after review by electrician, with #2 and #4 copper wire.
dghowery is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.