Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-04-2011, 06:47 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rewire my bathroom


I am remodeling the bathroom. Currently I have 3 outlets, 3 switches, 2 sconce lights on wall, and 1 ceiling light. I have added a hot tub w/heater and would like can lights (1 over shower, 3 over double sink, and 1 over tub), as well as a fan. I believe I need to run 2 dedicated lines for the tub and heater, I plan to run 12/2 romex from a 15a or 20a gfi breaker. Don't kno0w if I have enough room in the box for that. I am not sur about the process of bonding the tub and heater. I get the principle but do not know exactly what to do. Could I just replace the circuit controlling my bathroom now with a 20a gfi breaker and run all of that stuff from there?

ffcinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 06:52 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,926
Rewards Points: 2,248
Default

Rewire my bathroom


What do the instructions for the tub say.
You might need 4 circuits, one for the receptacles, one for the lights and fans, and 2 for the tub.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
ffcinc (01-04-2011)
Old 01-04-2011, 06:55 PM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,341
Rewards Points: 2,344
Default

Rewire my bathroom


Lighting, outlets, hot tub will need separate breakers. You can not run that much off of a single 20 amp. Outlets in the bathroom need to be GCFI protected, either by a GCFI breaker or GCFI outlet as the first outlet before the others. That circuit needs to be 20 amp. When I redid my bathroom, we just pulled all #12 for the lights & outlets, since later on, we may change the exhaust fan out to have a heater in it, and wanted to be ready if we ever do.

Lighting, you are going to have to calculate how many watts are going to be on the circuit and figure if a 15 amp will be enough, or need to go with a 20 amp circuit for lights. If you do not think you have enough room in the panel, then yes a sub-panel may be in order. Just remember when you go down to city hall to pull the permits, you better have your ducks in a row with plans for electric, plumbing, etc, or they will turn you away. Most city's have their info online along with guidelines as to what NEC year they are going by.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
ffcinc (01-04-2011)
Old 01-04-2011, 07:30 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rewire my bathroom


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
What do the instructions for the tub say.
You might need 4 circuits, one for the receptacles, one for the lights and fans, and 2 for the tub.

I need a circuit for the tub, I do not know if it is a 15 or 20, and a 15a for the heater. I was planning to put both gfis at the breaker to eliminate the need of pulling the access panel if they pop.
ffcinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 07:59 PM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,341
Rewards Points: 2,344
Default

Rewire my bathroom


The name plate on the motor will tell you how many amps it pulls.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
ffcinc (01-04-2011)
Old 01-04-2011, 08:03 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rewire my bathroom


ac volts 115 and amps 7.0
ffcinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 08:06 PM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,341
Rewards Points: 2,344
Default

Rewire my bathroom


15 amp for the tub motor should be fine. As for the heater, both together may work on a 20 amp circuit alone. The plugs will still need to have access through a access panel either on the side, or back through a closet, or the hall. I have seen one where the owner cut a hole in the sub floor, so that from the basement, they could reach up and reset the GCFI under the tub.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 08:44 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Rewire my bathroom


When I installed my tub the heater required a dedicated 15a GFCI protected circuit per Mfg
The tub motor did not require a dedicated circuit, as I recall it pulled about 7a per the name plate
I have never tested either to see what they actually pull for power
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 11:07 PM   #9
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Rewire my bathroom


Quote:
Originally Posted by ffcinc View Post
and a 15a for the heater.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ffcinc View Post
ac volts 115 and amps 7.0
If these numbers are correct they will not both fit on a 20 circuit.

Unless installing a Heat/Vent-a-fan you can probably install all of (and only)the bath plugs(MUST BE GFI) and lights on one 20a dedicated circuit( must be #12)

then unless directed otherwise by manufacture 2 circuits for the tub. They do make GFI fronts for installation in a more accessible location so as to provide protection to had to access plugs.

I would not install a 15a heater on a 15a circuit as per the 125% rule.


Last edited by Saturday Cowboy; 01-04-2011 at 11:11 PM.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bathroom DWV Layout Problems grymes56 Plumbing 8 05-15-2011 10:00 AM
Bathroom fan replacement reveals...a mess merlanvp Electrical 0 07-25-2010 09:00 PM
Rewire a bathroom MCrom Electrical 5 03-29-2010 03:18 PM
Basement bathroom wiring mess. Little help. trailblazer1229 Electrical 15 02-16-2010 10:29 AM
Plumbing Help for New Basement Bathroom morphers82 Plumbing 2 03-14-2009 01:17 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.