Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-05-2008, 04:07 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Share |
Unhappy

Rewire


I'm looking to purchase a home that was built in 1966 in Phoenix, AZ that's about 2100sqft. I need some help figuring out what the cost to rewire the home would be & bringing it up to code. Any ideas?

jennifer1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 04:20 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Rewire


Call these clowns

http://econo-light.com/

Up to code is open to interpetation.

If you need a service change/upgrade, it will run from 2K to 3K.

New circuits for the kitchen/microwave/bathrooms will be about $300 each.

With a service change, GFCI or AFCI breakers (if required) to protect your existing ungrounded recepticals are about $60 each extra. You MAY have grounded cable. 1966 is on the edge.

Estimates are still free so call or email Brian.

If you are cute and single, ask for John


Oops....I just re read your post. Please don't call for an estimate until you buy the house. Use my guidelines above.

If you want a professional detailed inspection, we can provide you with a written report for about $300. This would include a 1 to 2 hour on site inspection and another hour to compile it and write it up.

Thanks


Last edited by 220/221; 10-05-2008 at 04:25 PM.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 04:23 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,186
Default

Rewire


Don't forget the cost of opening up walls to get to wire that can't be pulled.

It is a big undertaking.

What is it that is out of code now? Some things can be fixed easily and doesn't require a lot of work and expense.
Marvin Gardens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 04:43 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Rewire


Typical isses in a 1966 model would be.

Service.

The stock service would be 60 to 100 amps. It may have been upgraded in the past. Can't really tell without looking. It may have been cobbled on to when an AC was added. It is likely that something had been added over the years and there is a god chance that it has been done improperly.Pics???

Ungrounded receptacles.

It is likely that the receps in the house are two pronged, ungrounded type or that some may have been changed out (with or without a proper ground) to the 3 prong style. Again, you have to open things up and take a look to see. The general wiring may be in pristine condition in most of the house.

Ceiling fixtures.

Lot of wiring was run from ceiling box to ceiling box in that era. Throught the years, the homeowners may have use 100 or 150 watt light bulbs in the fixtures which will seriously crispify the insulation above the fixtures. The remedy dependes on the damage and availably slack in the wire (if any).

Kitchen circuits.

Kitchens were under wired back then. A microwave needs it's own circuit. Toaster ovens and coffee machines are high draw appliances and need to be addressed.

Bathrooms.

Hair dryers can draw 10 to 12 amps from a 15 amp circuit.

Misc.

There is generally some clean up work to do on all the stuff added over the years. If an old handyman kind of guy lived there it probably has a lot of outlets powered via extension cords, ceiling fans with open splices in the attic etc.

You gotta see it to know for sure. The more stock it looks, the better.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 04:50 PM   #5
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,559
Default

Rewire


Back then, even if the house was wired with grounded cable, the ground wire was usually a #16 or so. Fine back then, not legal by todays standards.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 04:56 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Arrow

Rewire


Well, I do no for a fact that it's a 100amp. I had a friend go with me that said it looks like the outlets are grounded, but he thinks we should just rewire the whole thing. I honestly don't have the answers to a lot of the questions that you're asking. I can't get into the property to take any pics b/c it's on lockbox. I'm having a hud consultant look at it on monday, that costs 200, but to do the full inspection it's going to be 825 then the appraisal, etc..... basically, depending on the repairs that this house is going to require & the type of loan I have I may or may not be able to afford it.

I just don't want to spend $1000 to find out. Some people say 3k, some say 10k (these #'s are okay). My mother in law says 20-30k, but that's ridiculous.
jennifer1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 04:56 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Rewire


Quote:
Fine back then, not legal by todays standards.
True but....I'd still use it. I would note it but I'd still use it. It would be stupid to tear up walls simply to upsize an EGC.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 04:57 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Rewire


also I'm thinking with a rewire it could be really difficult b/c it's mission style w/a flat roof. But I can't seem to find an entrance to the crawlspace.
jennifer1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 05:02 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Rewire


Quote:
I had a friend go with me that said it looks like the outlets are grounded, but he thinks we should just rewire the whole thing



Sorry....did I say that out loud?

You RARELY have to rewire the whole thing. 1926-1936.....maybe.



Is the house occupied? If it's in CENTRAL Phoenix I will drive by and simply look at the service for free. That usually tells a lot about the rest of the house.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 05:04 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Rewire


No, it's not occupied. It's at 59th ave & Olive (on Royal Palm).... Like I said, I have no idea what it's needing.
jennifer1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 05:09 PM   #11
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

Rewire


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
Call these clowns

http://econo-light.com/
Oh God NO! Not them!
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 05:11 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Rewire


I have a house on Royal Palm and Central.

I rarely get to the west side. Possibly Wednesday night. I sometimes go to 63rd and Olive to play ball and drive right by there. Give me the address and if I go on Wed, I'll bring a flashlight and take a look.

If it's unoccupied I probably won't get shot
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 05:15 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Rewire


Quote:
Oh God NO! Not them!
Don't you have some small animals or children to torture?
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 05:15 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Rewire


hardy har. alright. i'll send it. thank you.
jennifer1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 05:18 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Rewire


5721.

jennifer1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cost, electric, electrical, rewire, rewiring


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Same lights much brighter after rewire? rgsgww Electrical 11 07-12-2008 01:45 PM
Detached shed/shop rewire gtmatt Electrical 7 05-24-2008 09:40 AM
Should I rewire the whole house?? blaclightn1 Electrical 3 07-27-2007 07:11 PM
Aluminum rewire plan ra_doliv Electrical 13 07-06-2007 05:37 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.