Rewire - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-28-2011, 01:21 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

rewire


How do i get a wire down thru an insulated wall from attic to basement?

Advertisement

Tom Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 01:33 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 455
Rewards Points: 256
Default

rewire


Preferably on an interior wall with no insulation. You will have to become familiar with your building's construction and utilities. If you have power in basement that must control a device in attic, see if any existing wiring already travels that path. More details needed for better advice. Just power or a switch?

Advertisement

diyorpay is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to diyorpay For This Useful Post:
Tom Martin (06-28-2011)
Old 06-28-2011, 01:59 PM   #3
Living Life
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

rewire


depending on how much voltage you are going to run through the wire, you may want to try one of those steel fish tapes. i've used that before and had no problem at all getting through insulation.
DavidRobinson is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DavidRobinson For This Useful Post:
Tom Martin (06-28-2011)
Old 06-28-2011, 02:14 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Colonia, NJ
Posts: 127
Rewards Points: 75
Default

rewire


Fish sticks
http://hardware.hardwareandtools.com...berglass%20Rod
hpp58 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hpp58 For This Useful Post:
Tom Martin (06-28-2011)
Old 06-28-2011, 02:14 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 7,156
Rewards Points: 2,412
Default

rewire


Fish tape can be used with all household grade cables (Romex type) and voltages (120/240).

Sometimes you need to use two fishtapes, one inserted from each end of the pasage way and you play dueling swords inside the wall, then you pull the hooked ends out one hole, attach the wire, and pull the wire through.

Other times you have to cut square holes say 3x3, here and there through the drywall or paneling along the route you need to run the cable. This is most often needed when the wire has to go horizontally a little, through a stud or two.
__________________
(One morning on WRKO Radio) The tub's not clean! Let's remodel the bathroom.
(One afternoon on WRKO Radio) It's time for an oil change. I'm going to trade in the car for next year's model.

Last edited by AllanJ; 06-28-2011 at 02:17 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AllanJ For This Useful Post:
Tom Martin (06-28-2011)
Old 06-28-2011, 03:06 PM   #6
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,587
Rewards Points: 2,736
Default

rewire


Much preferable to fish an inside wall with no insulation. The problem with fishing a insulated exterior wall is that you tear up the insulation and vapor barrier.

If you have to cut holes in the drywall to get around fire blocking, I like to use a 5" hole saw. Then drill a 3/4" hole in the blocking for the wire. Secure the round piece of drywall with a few screws and tape and mud.

Advertisement

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
Tom Martin (06-28-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old House Rewire finnimus Electrical 15 05-13-2011 10:39 PM
Rewire 1955 house gemini28 Electrical 3 11-22-2010 11:27 PM
Am I going to have to rewire my house? dukes909 Electrical 14 09-14-2010 05:11 PM
Upgrade or rewire Lexiesmom Electrical 4 06-30-2010 08:21 AM
Aluminum rewire plan ra_doliv Electrical 13 07-06-2007 05:37 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts