Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-30-2010, 11:23 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Retrofit T12 to T8 Master /slave fixtures


We are retrofitting Master/Slave fixtures from T12 to T8 ballasts the T12's have many more wires do we just gang wire to the new T8 ballasts?

Jeff77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 11:26 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,681
Default

Retrofit T12 to T8 Master /slave fixtures


For ease of troubleshooting in the future, I put a ballast into each fixtur.

I hat the system yoou have.

You have to make sure that the tomstones are shunted in order for the t-8 to work.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 12:24 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 65
Default

Retrofit T12 to T8 Master /slave fixtures


Your ballasts should have a wiring diagram on them. different types / brands are wired slightly differently, so there's no one answer. If you can't figure out the diagram, perhaps you should get an electrician.

Note: More electricians are killed working on fluorescent lights than anything else. Be careful, they are high voltage, that's what a ballast does.
JPraski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 04:27 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Western Maine
Posts: 201
Default

Retrofit T12 to T8 Master /slave fixtures


More electricians are killed working on fluorescent lights... because more electricians WORK ON fluorescent lights.

That said. Most of the electronic T8 ballasts have both pins on the end of the tube attached together. In retrofit, this is achieved by connecting both of the socket wires with a wirenut.

I've even seen this done on some old "preheat" (think starter) types, and without bypassing the starter socket even!
emolatur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 04:32 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 65
Default

Retrofit T12 to T8 Master /slave fixtures


1/2 true. I also think more electricians take them for granted and aren't as careful as they should be. I don't know anyone who has gotten poked twice by the HV, though. You learn quick.
JPraski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 04:57 PM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,366
Default

Retrofit T12 to T8 Master /slave fixtures


Yes gang the wries. The T12 will two wires per tombstone. The T8 only has one. Just tie the two existing wires to the single wire of the new T8 ballasts. We do it that way all the time. Just make sure you use the correct wires, because the T12 wiring scheme uses the same colours but for different purposes.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.

Last edited by joed; 12-30-2010 at 05:06 PM.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 10:13 PM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Retrofit T12 to T8 Master /slave fixtures


Ya have to becarefull some of the T-8 Electronic ballast do come in either instat start or rapid start so watch out the connection setup and follow the diagram very carefull that is the only way you can do it right.

Merci.
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No power to light fixtures or switch in garage mrsirmrman Electrical 5 09-29-2010 03:36 PM
Master Bathroom Fixtures mpt1123 Plumbing 1 03-01-2009 04:08 PM
Replacing Bathroom Light Fixtures, going from one to two. diynewb Electrical 3 11-25-2008 10:16 AM
Advice on replacing bathroom fixtures t1000 Plumbing 3 07-11-2008 02:42 PM
Trouble installing ceiling light fixtures: same problem x3 sweetroad9 Electrical 5 04-13-2007 01:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.