Residing And Electrical??? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-17-2007, 10:06 AM   #1
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,783
Rewards Points: 1,018
Default

Residing and electrical???


I'm going to re-side my house this summer.
My plan was to cut the siding around the meter base and cable hanger, leaving a patch of the old siding until I was ready to get to the siding on that side of the house. The building inspector won't give me a siding permit until he gets an electrical permit. Unfortunately, he didn't like my idea of leaving a patch of old siding under the hanger and meter until we're ready to have an electrician come in and deal with it.

Since this is me, the homeowner, doing the re-siding, it's going to take a bit longer to get the job finished than a pro (about 2 months of nights and weekends).
What options do I have for to temporarily deal with the meter and hanger?

Advertisement

__________________
I tear things down and build them up.

Last edited by Clutchcargo; 05-17-2007 at 10:31 AM.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2007, 07:13 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Residing and electrical???


I strongly advise contacting an electrical contractor for dealing with the cables from the weather head on down through the meter and into the house.

these are live from the utility, cannot be turned off by you, and fused verry high. It is not safe for a DIY to take on this type of work.

Advertisement

__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2007, 07:39 AM   #3
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,783
Rewards Points: 1,018
Default

Residing and electrical???


Thanks J, I guess I made that clear as mud. I'm planning on having an electrician do this. I agree, this is way beyond my comfort level and too dangerous for a non-electrician, like me. There's something about an unstoppable shower of sparks that scares the hell out of me. My town would not allow a homeowner to do this anyway. I guess my question is what typically would an electrician do with the meter when it needs a temporary relocation. I'm thinking I need somekind of temporary utility pole or something. Is the utility company involved or can the electrician do all the work?
Any idea what I can expect to spend for this?
TIA
__________________
I tear things down and build them up.

Last edited by Clutchcargo; 05-18-2007 at 10:42 AM.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2007, 12:22 PM   #4
So Cal Electrician
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: South OC, Cali
Posts: 88
Rewards Points: 75
Send a message via Yahoo to hbsparky
Default

Residing and electrical???


shounds like an excellent time for a panel upgrade...but if not, why not flush mount the meter inside the wall? the you wouldn't have to worry about moving it, just side around it, and instead of a standoff on the wall, have him put a riser in the wall.
__________________
Well....Butter my butt and call me a biscuit!
hbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2007, 01:27 PM   #5
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,783
Rewards Points: 1,018
Default

Residing and electrical???


There's no weatherhead now. There's just a hanger on the house and from there the power line is tacked to the side of the house leading to the meter base.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hbsparky View Post
shounds like an excellent time for a panel upgrade...but if not, why not flush mount the meter inside the wall? the you wouldn't have to worry about moving it, just side around it, and instead of a standoff on the wall, have him put a riser in the wall.
I don't know if I need a panel upgrade just yet. I've got a few slots left and I don't want to spend the extra money until I need to.

I didn't know the meter could be mounted in the wall. Do you mean I could have the power cable come off the pole and enter the wall and connect to the meter base inside the wall? So the wire would be concealed in the wall?
__________________
I tear things down and build them up.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2007, 03:02 PM   #6
So Cal Electrician
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: South OC, Cali
Posts: 88
Rewards Points: 75
Send a message via Yahoo to hbsparky
Default

Residing and electrical???


yes, you could do a rigid pipe inside the wall up through the roof and put a weatherhead on top and everything would be concealed inside the wall...looks much nicer. Just do yourself a favor and go for the larger size pipe, that way when you upgrade your panel, the larger conduit is already in place, all you would have to do is pull the new wire through it.
__________________
Well....Butter my butt and call me a biscuit!
hbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2007, 03:56 PM   #7
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,783
Rewards Points: 1,018
Default

Residing and electrical???


Kewl.
I don't think I'd want to go through the roof though. I'm trying to avoid any more pipes coming through the roof. This is a two story so the wire is up high already. I imagine there is a fitting that is made to penetrate an exterior wall?

This is good, thanks for the ideas.

Advertisement

__________________
I tear things down and build them up.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts