Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-12-2011, 05:16 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

residential surface mount raceway


Hi. I am building a house with solid, low-density concrete blocks in a part of the world where subs ask wazzat? (It is autoclaved aerated concrete.) I'm looking at surface mount raceways as an easy and flexible way to wire it. Trouble is the residential contractors ask wazzat? http://www.grainger.com/Grainger/pre...ecatalog/N-8ed
I'd run the raceway at outlet height in a continuous stripe in the two rooms that have a single interior studwall (no basement or attic.) I'd install wood paneling above and below in a style that would make the raceway look like a metal accent at first glance.

Three questions:

If you can get the cover off, is an embedded raceway still considered surface mount?

Anyone know of a source for two channel raceway that would also give me coax and phone flexibility down the road? Designer colors would be nice, too.

This is residential so the outlets would have to be AFCI and tamper proof. Am I dreaming?

toddmpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 05:24 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,783
Default

residential surface mount raceway


IMO it sounds more like you need the raceway elsewhere rather than on stud walls which could be wired before they are coverd.

Google Wiremold for a plethora of options.

brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 12:10 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
Default

residential surface mount raceway


Thx for the wiremold tip. To clarify, my first floor has 150 linear feet of solid AAC wall and 18 lft of stud wall, so conventional wiring is not an option. (No basement; no attic access.) While it is relatively easy to rout conduit channels in AAC, the expense isn't much less than surface raceway and the volume of dust produced is unbelievable.
What's worse, after the finishers parge plaster over the AAC, subsequent wiring changes would be very, very expensive indeed.
toddmpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 08:31 AM   #4
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

residential surface mount raceway


keep in mind that "surface mount raceways" are just that. Wiremold being a major brand, are not aloud to be recessed in any way.
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thoughts on wiring new attached garage/hallway Mi Feller Electrical 45 06-18-2010 06:47 PM
Ceiling Fan Surface Mount to Drop Mount hbv2020 Electrical 1 02-20-2010 08:24 AM
Surface mount outlets and grounds nel262 Electrical 15 01-26-2010 05:54 PM
Surface Mount subpanel and 110/220 recepts - good idea? vsheetz Electrical 4 11-15-2009 10:29 PM
Another name for surface wiring/wire-mold? fw2007 Electrical 4 01-09-2008 04:56 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.