Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-24-2013, 05:19 AM   #46
Member
 
PoleCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,458
Rewards Points: 598
Default

Residential grounding


Static build up can be an issue for sensitive equipment. For my money that is the 24/7 benefit of a decent ground.

__________________
"Ask me anything. If I don't know the answer I'll make something up."
PoleCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 06:23 AM   #47
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,483
Rewards Points: 2,310
Default

Residential grounding


Your all wrong.

The grounding system is there so the poltergeists in your house are pushed back into the ground where they belong.

That is why I have an Ufer ground....big grounded concrete pad....push them bad boys way down.

Otherwise, who are you going to call?
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 06:24 AM   #48
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,483
Rewards Points: 2,310
Default

Residential grounding


Quote:
Originally Posted by redalice734 View Post
I own a 4000-sf home in Michigan. It used to be 2 units, but we're consolidating it into one.

My electrician is combining electrical service from two meters & panels to one. The water supply line is about 60 ft. from the electrical supply panel. He wants to install two separate grounding rods just outside the panel and then wants to run grounding cable across the basement to the water supply line as well. I thought a) it was one or the other, and b) a residential system only needed one grounding rod anyhow. This dude's been nickel and diming met to death and I'm pretty sure he's just looking for an extra day's work -- before I lose it on him, though, I figured I'd ask around.

It's standard electrical service, 200 amps, nothing special.

Any input is appreciated, thanks!
Quote:
Originally Posted by deverson View Post
You didn't say where you live. In WI you have to use 2 ground rods. Call your inspection dept. or one near you and ask.
He did....Opening sentence....
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 08:41 AM   #49
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 454
Rewards Points: 254
Default

Residential grounding


Quote:
A Megger is the same thing as the 3-point Earth ground resistance tester. All I could remember was Megger and not what the resistance test was actually called since everyone I used to work with called it the same thing, and in my current job the call it the same thing. This test can also be performed after connection to the electrical distribution system.


Actually Megger is a trade name for an insulation resistance tester. Megger the company also made other electrical test equipment including Earth/Ground Resistance testers.

Quote:
I completely agree, except for the unknown resistance of the two rods. When you are testing the ground you are finding out the resistance in the whole system including the rods. I had seen on my grandparents home a ground rod that was corroded completely through.
Generally specifications for testing ground electrode require the electrodes to be isolated for testing.

Last edited by Know A Little; 11-24-2013 at 08:44 AM.
Know A Little is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 09:38 AM   #50
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

Residential grounding


Quote:
Originally Posted by avengerki View Post
You fail to pay attention to everything I said. The house prior to the proper grounding had been struck by many lightning strikes. Each time it was struck there was damage, the last strike they had before getting a proper ground caused quite a bit of damage. After they had the proper grounding they still were getting struck by lightning but were not receiving any damage. The house was struck more than 8 times within a 3 year stretch, I always thought it fairly weird but that house just seemed to be a magnet.

Having a good and proper ground is like an insurance policy. You may think it is completely worthless until you needed one and didn't have it.
You are missing my statement as well, you cannot prove that a ground rod "saved" the structure this time…. that is just ludicrous…. and the only thing a ground rod does is try to eliminate surface arching, damage is still going to exist with any strike, some do more damage than others….

And let me ask you this, how was this house ever built without a grounding electrode system to begin with?
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (11-24-2013)
Old 11-27-2013, 02:12 PM   #51
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

Residential grounding


http://www.diychatroom.com/f18/gound...8/#post1272221

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
grounding question


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2-2-4 SEU - Smaller Neutral? BRT Electrical 18 09-23-2012 09:25 PM
Replacing Light Fixture with No Ground Wire in Home panorama Electrical 42 09-14-2012 09:35 AM
Need to know if my grounds and neutrals are connected right dorlow Electrical 185 01-15-2012 02:54 PM
Anyone want to take a shot at why #6 to attach antenna ground to breaker? Piedmont Electrical 44 01-08-2008 04:11 PM
NEC Question Jafsvcs Electrical 1 06-13-2007 05:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.