Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-08-2012, 11:41 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Residential Electrical Panel Load.


Hi,
My house has main electric panel provisioned with total 200 Amps circuit breakers (100 Amps each) on the main line, i.e., electric panel is of 200 Amps capacity. Please advise me how many circuit breakers can I install on the pannel (as for as there is physical provision on the panel) for different circuits in the home in terms of the total current capacity of all the combined circuit breakers for all the home circuits, e.g., 40+40 Amps circuit breaker for Range, 30+30 Amps circuit breaker for Dryer, 20 Amps circuit breaker for Kitchen etc.

Thanks,
Irshad

Irshad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 12:20 AM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Residential Electrical Panel Load.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Irshad View Post
Hi,
My house has main electric panel provisioned with total 200 Amps circuit breakers (100 Amps each) on the main line, i.e., electric panel is of 200 Amps capacity. Please advise me how many circuit breakers can I install on the pannel (as for as there is physical provision on the panel) for different circuits in the home in terms of the total current capacity of all the combined circuit breakers for all the home circuits, e.g., 40+40 Amps circuit breaker for Range, 30+30 Amps circuit breaker for Dryer, 20 Amps circuit breaker for Kitchen etc.

Thanks,
Irshad
Let me clear this up for ya due you say 100 amp each on the main breaker it do NOT add the numbers at all so they are at 100 amp each leg or phase so you do not have 200 amp capacity at all unless you look at the model number on the cover door or in the breaker panel you will have to find the label for it.

Second thing is that if you have 40+40 it is not addtive as well it is a 40 amp two pole breaker ditto for dryer it will be 30 amp two pole breaker and single pole if you see only one set of numbers that is single pole.

This is a two pole breaker.,



Now this is a single pole breaker



Now that should clear up what you try to do this.

Merci,
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 03:51 AM   #3
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Residential Electrical Panel Load.


Being that there's a main breaker you can put in as many breakers as the panel can hold.
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Julius793 For This Useful Post:
plummen (02-09-2012)
Old 02-09-2012, 07:00 AM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,282
Rewards Points: 2,226
Default

Residential Electrical Panel Load.


You could install a thousand breakers, that will not make the difference. What will, is the number of items that will place a load on the panel. What that means is, is there an electric stove, electric dryer, electric furnace, heat pump, welder in the garage, large size air compressor, a lot of high intensity flood lights outside. Plan on running a grow-op.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
plummen (02-09-2012)
Old 02-09-2012, 07:13 AM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,696
Rewards Points: 2,190
Default

Residential Electrical Panel Load.


The important thing to pay attention to is how many the label says you can install.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
NJMarine (02-11-2012), plummen (02-09-2012), zappa (02-09-2012)
Old 02-09-2012, 08:46 AM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 504
Rewards Points: 270
Default

Residential Electrical Panel Load.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
The important thing to pay attention to is how many the label says you can install.
And what the load calculation says you can install.

Mark
busman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 09:12 AM   #7
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Residential Electrical Panel Load.


Quote:
Originally Posted by busman

And what the load calculation says you can install.

Mark
No load calculation is completely irrelevant if there's a main.
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 09:30 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 81
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Residential Electrical Panel Load.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Julius793 View Post
No load calculation is completely irrelevant if there's a main.
Why is that?
M Engineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 09:45 AM   #9
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Residential Electrical Panel Load.


Quote:
Originally Posted by M Engineer

Why is that?
Assuming you read the post: if you were to add up the amperages of the breakers in a typical panel you will find that most will be a few times the amperage of the main. Which is not an issue at all because as soon as the main is overloaded it will trip. However if we were to be discussing a split bus panel, then the top would require a load calculation.
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Julius793 For This Useful Post:
plummen (02-09-2012), Yoyizit (02-09-2012)
Old 02-09-2012, 10:27 AM   #10
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,911
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Residential Electrical Panel Load.


Quote:
Originally Posted by busman View Post
And what the load calculation says you can install.

Mark
?????????????????????????????????????
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 11:08 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Residential Electrical Panel Load.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Julius793 View Post
. . .a split bus panel. . .
http://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=...9QEwAg&dur=187

While we're on the subject, can someone please post some resi. single phase panel schematics? Figuring it out with a meter can be confusing and dangerous.
There can't be too many of them. . .right???
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 12:01 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 81
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Residential Electrical Panel Load.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Julius793 View Post
Assuming you read the post: if you were to add up the amperages of the breakers in a typical panel you will find that most will be a few times the amperage of the main. Which is not an issue at all because as soon as the main is overloaded it will trip. However if we were to be discussing a split bus panel, then the top would require a load calculation.
Seems like to me it would be an issue if the main is tripping all the time.
M Engineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 12:04 PM   #13
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Residential Electrical Panel Load.


Quote:
Originally Posted by M Engineer

Seems like to me it would be an issue if the main is tripping all the time.
Well if you think it's an issue than you clearly aren't an electrician.
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 12:10 PM   #14
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 504
Rewards Points: 270
Default

Residential Electrical Panel Load.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Julius793 View Post
Assuming you read the post: if you were to add up the amperages of the breakers in a typical panel you will find that most will be a few times the amperage of the main. Which is not an issue at all because as soon as the main is overloaded it will trip. However if we were to be discussing a split bus panel, then the top would require a load calculation.
All new services and additions to services require a load calculation. Just because there is a circuit breaker doesn't mean it's OK to just fill up the panel until the main trips. It's there as a secondary protection method. The load calculation provides a very low likelihood of the main ever needing to trip.

Mark
busman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 12:13 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 81
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Residential Electrical Panel Load.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Julius793 View Post
Well if you think it's an issue than you clearly aren't an electrician.

No. I am not an electrician. Would you please explain why a load calculation is not necessary?

M Engineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mobile Home Electrical Panel Replacement rrolleston Electrical 2 01-28-2012 05:27 PM
Miswire for 240V and electrical panel replacment? daluu Electrical 21 01-26-2012 04:17 AM
Sub Panel GND and mixed 240/120 VAC branch curiousB Electrical 12 01-17-2012 10:49 AM
Sub Panel Main Lug Load Center - Single Phase ? Roy Rowlett Electrical 21 08-20-2009 06:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.