Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-11-2013, 09:31 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Residential AFCI Requirements


Where does the 2011 NEC require AFCI protection in an existing Residence that has had a Service Upgrade?

Dennis Murray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 09:34 AM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

Residential AFCI Requirements


It does NOT.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 09:35 AM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

Residential AFCI Requirements


Some overzealous inspectors may try to implement this requirement on their own, but i have not seen ONE written amendment to the NEC requiring them.
In fact, to the contrary. I have written proof that in NYS they are expressly not required.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 09:39 AM   #4
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,854
Default

Residential AFCI Requirements


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Murray View Post
Where does the 2011 NEC require AFCI protection in an existing Residence that has had a Service Upgrade?
I would have to agree with Speedy. If your being told that afci is required due to a service upgrade I would contact your building codes department and ask for clarification and they will be able to tell you if there is a local requirement to install afci in your situation.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 09:42 AM   #5
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,563
Default

Residential AFCI Requirements


I also agree with the above.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 09:46 AM   #6
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 6,756
Default

Residential AFCI Requirements


I also have to agree....I'm in the middle of a 2-story addition....adding two bedrooms.....but also replaced my load center (it has to move from the existing location).....New bedrooms have to be AFIC...but existing don't.....(but I am making them AFIC anyway)
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 09:46 AM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

Residential AFCI Requirements


Dennis, where are you located, and why are you asking this?

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CA requirements for side venting residential range hood ssmraule Appliances 2 01-24-2013 05:04 PM
What are height requirements of a residential supply service drop? nowwhatnapster Electrical 10 07-09-2012 07:13 AM
AFCI breaker tripping encounter779 Electrical 8 06-11-2011 04:09 PM
Loose electrical outlets travishume Electrical 30 08-01-2008 07:21 PM
New AFCI requirements fw2007 Electrical 16 04-07-2008 08:52 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.