Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-06-2012, 12:41 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Requirement for free cable


Before entering a box, is there a requirement for a minimum (for repair) or maximum (so that its clean and neat) length of free cable required before entering the box when using NMD90?

zubor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 10:37 PM   #2
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Requirement for free cable


I'm not sure of a specific requirement, I imagine there is one, I always like to leave about 6 inches or so, but not too much as to make the box too crowded. I also like to leave some slack outside the box (before I split it, of course) so that in the event the box needs to be moved, or a wire is accidentally cut inside the box, there is some slack that can be used. Though I only really do this in places where I have access behind the box such as if it's a junction box in the basement.

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 05:17 AM   #3
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,301
Rewards Points: 132
Default

Requirement for free cable


I sort of asked the same question a few weeks ago....we all got into a good discussion on it....here is the thread.

Outlet Pigtails
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 05:55 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Requirement for free cable


Thanks everyone.

My question was with regard to free cable outside the box. CEC requires 150 mm (~6") in the box, but I cannot find mention with regard to slack of cable outside the box for moving the box if needed, or pulling more cable into the box if too many repairs have been done and the wires are short.
zubor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 03:10 PM   #5
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 701
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Requirement for free cable


There is no requirement for cable outside the box, but the cable must be stapled within 8-12" of a box depending on if clamps are used or not
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 10:05 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Requirement for free cable


We always leave a loop between the box and last staple, about 6" worth, that way if the box needs to be moved or the drywallers damage a wire inside the box it's easy to fix. I have done a lot of reno's where that little bit extra would have come in handy!
waynestractor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 12:24 PM   #7
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,589
Rewards Points: 112
Default

Requirement for free cable


There is no REQUIREMENT to leave extra. You can leave extra as long as it is fastened correctly.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sound out of cable box amakarevic Home Theater 11 05-18-2012 10:26 AM
Running cable under/around laminate floor greenjelly Flooring 4 08-06-2010 09:49 AM
Need help sizing Generator cable dgajr Electrical 2 07-20-2010 12:07 AM
Evaluating a kinked cable dave11 Electrical 5 05-09-2010 10:20 AM
Underground service entrance cable requirements. kgt55 Electrical 9 06-22-2009 06:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.